U.S. History

Includes more than 700 records that describe and link to online primary sources.

Images and manuscripts are found throughout the TriCollege Libraries (Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore). Includes multiples sets of personal papers and women's movements.

A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920.

Database maintained by the University of Wisconsin System Women’s Studies Librarian’s Office that lists television series and documentary, experimental, and feature film and video productions by and about women.

A collection of personal and family papers from the 19th and 20th centuries digitized by Duke University Libraries.

The papers of lecturer, reformer, actress, and author Anna Elizabeth Dickinson (1842-1932) span the period 1859-1951, but are chiefly concentrated in the years from 1859 to 1911.

Documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.

The papers of suffragist, political strategist, and pacifist Carrie Lane Chapman Catt (1859-1947) span the years 1848-1950, with the bulk of the material dating from 1890 to 1920.

Two diaries from the 1940s fully digitized.

Emma Goldman (1869–1940) stands as a major figure in the history of American radicalism and feminism. An influential and well-known anarchist of her day, Goldman was an early advocate of free speech, birth control, women's equality and independence, and union organization.

Collection of women's diaries and correspondence covering colonial times to 1950. Includes over 2,000 documents dating from pre-1800.

The present collection adds to the published evidence illumination primarily of Gilman's personal life, but also shows the consistency of her ideas throughout her life and, in the unpublished manuscripts, their later development. For the early years the journals and diaries are useful, but in the 1880s and 1890s entries are often sporadic due to her periods of illness, and after 1903 there are only engagement books, with at most very brief entries. The two "Thoughts and Figgerings" folders (16, 17) provide revealing glimpses of her plans, hopes, and her attitude toward herself and her life, as do the letters to Houghton and the later years of her life. The correspondence and newsclippings show her impact and the often extreme reactions she aroused, ranging from grateful adoration to vituperation (always anonymous), though her habit of destroying most personal letters leaves some perhaps unanswerable questions about her closer relationships.

Smith Digital Collections is a gateway to digital collections and online exhibitions unique to Smith College. The collections feature images, women's papers, a/v material on social activism.

Collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals.

Primary documents covering U.S. history and women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000. Includes women's rights, as well as involvement of women in anti-slavery, civil rights, temperance, labor, and other causes.

This collection includes 448 digitized photographs selected from approximately 2,650 print photographs in the Records of the National Woman's Party, a collection of more than 438,000 items, housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. The images span from 1875 to 1938 but largely were created in the years between 1913 and 1922.

Eight Women Who Came to the Front:
A focus on female journalists, photographers, and broadcasters during World War II. Includes biographies of eight particularly interesting women.

An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.