U.S. History

Interface in English. Content in English or other languages.
Digitized collections from the Library of Congress, includes manuscripts, books, photos, maps, audio recordings, and more. Strongest between the 17th and 21st centuries. Content dating back to B.C.E.
Open Access.

Images available from the collections of the Smithsonian Institution.

Search over 16 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 5.1 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.

Instant access to rare and historical collections relevant to the history of California and Los Angeles. Includes thousands of photographs related to the police and policing in LA.

Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and general exploration. Discover photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. The collections on Calisphere have been digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout California.

Link goes to list of specific digital collections focused on different moments in (predominately white) Arizona history.

A project from the Arizona State Library as well as Archives & Public Records with federal funds. Includes government documents, maps, oral histories, photographies, city directories, and more.

Collections include focuses such as American Vaudeville Museum Archive
Archive Tucson Oral Histories; Arizona Index; Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press; Morris Udall and Stewart Udall Papers; University of Arizona Photographs; USS Arizona: That Terrible Day

Several historical California newspapers with varied coverage from 1846–1922.

Digitized newspapers from 1789-1963 from numerous states. Also includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory with information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.