U.S. History

This volume has all different genres--animation, documentaries, sitcoms, sports, talk shows, and variety shows--and performers such as Muhammad Ali, Louis Armstrong, Bill Cosby, and Oprah Winfrey.

There is a guide to pronouncing military terms and a guide to acronyms. Numerous lists and facts about people, places, and battles make this a must-have reference for members of the military and students of military history.

Most of the names looked up were present, so this three-volume dictionary cannot be far off its claim to have 85% of American surnames. Entries provide frequency of occurrence in the population, an explanation or definition of the name, language of origin, original spelling, region, typology.

The dictionary draws on the two-billion-word Oxford English Corpus and the unrivaled citation files of the world-renowned Oxford English Dictionary to provide the most accurate and richly descriptive picture of American English ever offered in any dictionary.

An ideal reference for non-native speakers who want to learn American English.

Collects the words of Americans from all walks of life presenting more than five thousand entries in a browser-friendly, cross-referenced, and single-column format that encompasses more than five hundred topics.

More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic. African American history and culture in the present-day United States receive a strong emphasis, but African American history and culture throughout the rest of the Americas and their origins in African itself have an equally strong presence.

This expansive, multivolume reference work provides a broad, multidisciplinary examination of the Civil War period ranging from pre-Civil War developments and catalysts such as the Mexican-American War to the rebuilding of the war-torn nation during Reconstruction.

Provides a thorough introduction to the wide–ranging and fast–developing field of Asian American studies. Published with the Association for Asian American Studies (AAAS), two volumes of the four-volume encyclopedia feature more than 300 A-to-Z articles authored by AAAS members and experts in the field who examine the social, cultural, psychological, economic, and political dimensions of the Asian American experience.

An invaluable resource that documents the Black Power Movement by its cultural representation and promotion of self-determination and self-defense, and showcases the movement's influence on Black communities in America from 1965 to the mid-1970s.

This fascinating compilation of reference entries documents the unique relationship between mass media, propaganda, and the U.S. military, a relationship that began in the period before the American Revolution and continues to this day--sometimes cooperative, sometimes combative, and always complex.

Offering a comprehensive view of the South's literary landscape, past and present, this volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture celebrates the region's ever-flourishing literary culture and recognizes the ongoing evolution of the southern literary canon. As new writers draw upon and reshape previous traditions, southern literature has broadened and deepened its connections not just to the American literary mainstream but also to world literatures--a development thoughtfully explored in the essays here. Greatly expanding the content of the literature section in the original Encyclopedia, this volume includes 31 thematic essays addressing major genres of literature; theoretical categories, such as regionalism, the southern gothic, and agrarianism; and themes in southern writing, such as food, religion, and sexuality. Most striking is the fivefold increase in the number of biographical entries, which introduce southern novelists, playwrights, poets, and critics. Special attention is given to contemporary writers and other individuals who have not been widely covered in previous scholarship.

Examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America.

A reference that will provide users with basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States.

This encyclopedic reference focuses primarily on urban lifestyle and its associated crimes, ranging from burglary to drug peddling to murder to new, more sophisticated forms of street crime and scams.

This encyclopedia provides readers and researchers with a comprehensive reference work on this central topic of African American history, exploring the breadth of the black migration experience from its origins in the agricultural economy of the post–Civil War South to the return migration of the late 20th century.

Updates and expands a critically-acclaimed resource to the history, politics, content, procedures, and uses of the decennial census of the American population.

'Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History' explores the events, policies, activities, institutions, groups, people, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States from 1500 to 2010.

Examines the thought-provoking and fascinating history of relations between the United States and Native Americans. Extensive introductory essays trace the development of federal Indian policies from the days of the Continental Congress to the present and evaluate the role that the "Indian question" has played in the United States' political development.

Provides a comprehensive reference explaining the major concepts, institutions, court cases, epochs, personalities, and policies that have shaped, or been shaped by, American federalism.

This encyclopedia contains 50 thorough profiles of the most numerically significant immigrant groups now making their homes in the United States, telling the story of our newest immigrants and introducing them to their fellow Americans.

This landmark scholarly work offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the United States.

Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.

Provides an accessible ready reference on the retention and continuity of African culture within the United States.

The four volumes of The Social History of the American Family explore the vital role of the family as the fundamental social unit across the span of American history. Experiences of family life shape so much of an individual’s development and identity, yet the patterns of family structure, family life, and family transition vary across time, space, and socioeconomic contexts.

The South Carolina Encyclopedia Guide to the American Revolution in South Carolina details the people, places, and struggles that defined the region's prominent role in the path to American liberty from British authority. Nearly 140 battles of the American Revolution were fought in South Carolina, more than in any other colony.