Environmental Studies

Articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, and other formats. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. There are also video files, podcasts and transcripts from AP,NPR, CNN, CBC and full-text of the New York Times back to 1995.

Searches across AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases to cover topics such as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.

BIOSIS Previews is a multidisciplinary index to life science and biomedical research. Coverage is international, and includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.

Searches across Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) for resources on environmental issues.

Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Full text encyclopedias and reference sources in topics ranging from arts, business, environment, history, law, literature, religion, science, social science, and medicine.

Gallup Analytics offers access to nearly a century of U.S. public opinion data and a decade of global data. It includes the Gallup Poll Social Series, World Poll (covering over 140 countries since 2006) and the U.S. Daily Poll. This resource provides trends statistics. View and compare aggregated data by demographic, geography and more. Some microdata is available in Roper iPoll database. Please Note: Access is limited to one user at a time. If you are unable to login and receive an error message, please try accessing it at a later time.

Geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Extensive coverage of the journal literature, as well as survey data from many governmental organizations, including all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also referenced. Note: Searches Georef and Georef in Process (for most recent citations) together

A collection of scholarly books and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.

This exciting resource brings together unique primary sources drawn from world-class maritime archives and heritage collections. Reflecting current trends in Maritime history, this resource takes a sociocultural approach, focusing on the individual experiences and personal narratives of seafarers and their lives lived on the high seas.

Database for technical literature on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.

An index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general from all over the world

Citations and abstracts to more than 2 million dissertations and masters theses in all fields produced in North American colleges and universities from 1861 to the present, and from around the world since 1988. The full text of dissertations published since 1997 is also available for download.

Searches across Agricultural & Environmental Science, Biological Science, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aqua Databases. 1946 - present.

Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database. Use it for author, subject and citation searching in a wide array of disciplines. Find H-Index information, compare journal impact data, and analyze publication and citation trends. Scopus provides comprehensive coverage of a large number of journals from 1996 - present, with added older content.

Web of Science is a large database, indexing high quality journals and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and humanities and providing detailed citation analysis and citation searching, It covers from 1900 to the present, and is global in scope.

Search WorldCat to find materials in thousands of libraries worldwide, including the BC Libraries, the Boston Library Consortium (BLC), and The Center for Research Libraries. Current BC faculty, staff, and students may request items from other libraries through WorldCat.