U.S. History

This database provides access to multiple primary source (particularly newspapers and periodicals; books and manuscripts; legal and government documents) collections focused on US and British History with some content from around the rest of the globe. Coverage spans the 17th to 21st centuries, depending on collection.

Access to the multiple collections focused on 19th and 20th century United States history with a focus on Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; American Politics and Society; Women's Studies; Workers, Labor Unions, Progressives, and Radicals.

The World Digital Library is a Library of Congress project sponsored by UNESCO. Items in this digital library, including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps and sound recordings, are individually described and searchable in seven languages. Most countries and regions around the world are represented.

Combined searching of the historical New York Times, Boston Globe, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, Wall Street Journal, NY Amsterdam News, and Chicago Defender from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Nexis Uni includes thousands of U.S. and non-U.S. news sources; legal materials: case law, statutes and law reviews; and company/business information. Some content back to the 1970s but excellent for 1990 onward.

Along with letters, diaries, and oral histories, also includes posters, pamphlets, advertisements.

Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. This growing collection offers video, images, documents, reports and select books.

This collection documents the efforts of African American activists in their international effort to abolish slavery in the United States. Covering the period 1830-1865, the 15,000-item collection records the full impact of African American efforts to oppose slavery by displaying the writings and publications of the activists themselves.

Includes petitions related to race and slavery to state legislatures and to southern county courts, as well as state slavery statutes from 1789-1865.

1890-1920, digitized periodicals collection held by the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam, documenting the anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist periods in the history of Latin American labor movements.

Published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more.

This module is comprised of records of three important women's rights organizations: the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. Originally a committee of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA), the National Woman's Party (NWP) was founded in 1913 when Alice Paul and her colleagues broke away from NAWSA in dissent over strategy and tactics. The Women's Action Alliance, established in 1971 as a grass-roots organization, concerned itself with issues such as employment and employment discrimination, childcare, health care, and education. The League of Women Voters collection documents almost every facet of women's involvement in U.S. politics from 1920 to 1974.

Primary documents covering U.S. history and women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000. Contains document projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question.