U.S. History

Digital archives at the National Library of Spain. Contains manuscripts, maps, photographs, drawings, etc. Includes collections specifically focused on "Hispanoamérica," with more than 4,000 items from 1500 to the present (focused on 1800-2000).

The Ministry of Defense makes available to the user the digital collection consisting of a varied documents (including codices, prints, prints, video recordings, photographs, etc.), important as documentary evidence, of great antiquity, and of beauty and thematic interest. Interface predominately in Spanish.

Interface in English or other, major European languages. Content in multiple languages.
Europe-wide unified search of digitized collections. Images, audio, texts, and more. Funded by the EU. Covers more than 1,000 years of history. Strongest for 1500 to 2000.
Open Access.

Interface in English and French (and other major, European languages). Majority of the content in French.
France's fantastic digital library from the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Digitized periodicals, images, recordings, and more. Covers two millenia with particular strength from 1500 to the present.
Open Access.

Collections from Spanish universities and the digital libraries institutional repositories, offering access more than 8 million objects of all types (manuscripts, printed books, photographs, maps ...). Interface predominately in Spanish.

A curated set of images and documents with an accompanying essay set within the framework of the NYPL's Africana Age digital exhibit focused on the 20th century.

The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.

Cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

An open access collection of pre-twentieth-century Caribbean texts, maps, and images. Texts include travel narratives, novels, poetry, natural histories, and diaries that have not been brought together before as a single collection focused on the Caribbean. [Northeastern University]

Interface in English; material predominately in English.
Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this extensive resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
BC Institutional Login Required.

Hein Online collection of country constitutions, constitutional hierarchies , and texts and journals on consitutional law.

Caribbean Literature is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries, presented in the original: English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages; includes dictionaries of the Creole spoken in these countries.

Most of the items presented here are documented in Maps and Charts of North America and the West Indies, 1750-1789: A Guide to the Collections in the Library of Congress compiled by John R. Sellers and Patricia Molen van Ee in 1981. The bibliography contains approximately 2,000 maps and charts. Over the next several years many of the maps and charts in this bibliography will be added to the online collection each month.

Thousands of maps from the 12th to the 21st centuries. Heavy emphasis on Europe but includes excellent global coverage (including 3d globes).

The collection of Caribbean maps consist of ca. 300 printed and hand-drawn maps (some of them in more sheets) and some atlases from the sixteenth to twentieth century of Central America and the Caribbean in general and the Netherlands Antilles in particular.

A resource for exploring historical map images of Caribbean islands. The site has evolved since 1999 and now presents images of approximately 1800 maps of the islands printed over five centuries (16th–20th).

More than 37,000 maps available through the US Library of Congress with collection focus between 1600 and the present.

Part of the Digital Library of the Caribbean, The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL) is a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL will have on-going newspaper digitization, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers

Report on the Census of Cuba, 1899.

Working with the Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba José Martí (BNJM), this collection celebrates celebrate Cuban patrimony through more than 50,000 documents on archives & manuscripts; monographs; ephemera; law; thinkers & intellectual leaders; maps; newspapers & periodicals; and more. Focuses on the 18th to the 21st centuries.

Contains digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection.

Digital collections developed by the Cuban Heritage Collection documenting Cuba and the Cuban diaspora from colonial times to the present. These materials include rare books and journals, as well as archival materials including documents, correspondence, photographs, maps, scrapbooks, audio, video, and oral histories.

The Cuban Heritage Collection holds a significant number of titles related to Cuban law and legislation, many of which were digitized as part of a broader multi-institutional initiative to provide access to the legal history of the island.

More than 10,000 documents (text, images, and video) originating in Cuba, predominately in English and in Spanish. Focuses on the 16th to 20th centuries.

Eight full text documents from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries related to slavery in Jamaica.

Focused on an interpretation of Hans Sloane's 1707 Voyage to the Islands of Madera, Barbados, Nieves, S. Christophers and Jamaica.

The National Library of Jamaica’s (NLJ) holdings constitute the most comprehensive collection of Jamaican documentary offering an invaluable representation of Jamaica’s history and heritage from the 19th and 20th centuries. To enhance access to its rich and varied collections, the National NLJ has digitized thousands of historical photographs, prints, drawings, pamphlets, programmes, manuscripts, books, rare maps and other rare and unique materials.

More than 400 documents from the 19th and 20th centuries including stereograph, photographs, and illustrations. Included are also four books.

This exhibition uses the collections of the John Carter Brown Library to explore the relationship between early modern scientific knowledge, the Atlantic slave trade and the African diaspora in the Caribbean islands (particularly Jamaica).

A selection of more than 2,500 items (text and images) produced in Haiti between the 16th and 20th centuries predominately in English and French.

More than 16,000 documents (including books, magazines, maps, manuscripts, and images) from the 16th to the 21st centuries housed in the French National Library discussing the country that is now Haiti.

Curated documents translated into English from the Revolution (including the Toussaint Louverture Archive); the period of US domination; as well as Papa and Baby Doc (1950s-1980s).

28 digitized books, scores, pamphlets, maps, and letters selected from the Brown University Library's Haitian Studies holdings.

A curated exhibit with primary sources on the Haitian Revolution 1789-1804 and its impact. Includes maps, books, and other documents associated with the Revolution.

The website is designed to provide online access to both the French originals and the English translations of key primary sources dealing with the grain shortage faced by the colony of Saint-Domingue in 1789.

The Jérémie Papers encompasses the notarial and administrative archives of the municipality of Jérémie, located on the northern coast of present-day Haiti's southern peninsula. Under the French colonial regime, the jurisdiction of Jérémie (also known as la Grand'Anse) encompassed two parishes, Saint-Louis de Jérémie and Notre Dame du Cap Dame Marie, which were both civil and ecclesiastical divisions.

Collection of 22 handwritten letters pertaining to potential sales of various plantations and holdings, including slaves, in St. Domingue (present-day Haiti). Accompanying the correspondence are inventories, legal agreements, and an account book. This material, dated 1779 to 1791, is an excellent source of information about the French colony in the decade leading up to the revolt by black slaves in 1791. The letters reveal the desire of some plantation owners to sell because of the growing unrest in the profitable, slave-based colony.

Search "Haitian Revolution."

A website from the University of Wisconsin Green Bay exploring the connections between these two revolutions.

Interface and content in French.
This is the case of fugitive slave notices published in the colony’s principal newspaper, Affiches américaines, between 1766 and 1790. The history of marronage features prominently in the history of Haiti, the first black Republic.
Open Access.

ADNPR serves as the access portal to digital resources of archives, museums, libraries and audiovisual collections related to Puerto Rico. As part of our project we have integrated multiple digital collections that can be freely consulted by researchers as well as by any interested citizen. The list that we include here is exclusive since every day additional records are added but it contains the most significant collections and with the largest number of digital records.

The MAPR engages diverse communities to facilitate learning experiences about the visual arts through: the growth of a well-researched permanent collection exemplifying significant and representative examples of Puerto Rican art from the sixteenth century to the present.

Court documents on the Internet Archive, mostly handwritten from the 19th century.

Texts in English or Spanish.
Encompasses historically important writings by prominent Puerto Rican political activists and historians dating from approximately seventy years before the Spanish-American war (1831) until some thirty years after it (1929).

The United States annexed Puerto Rico in the aftermath of the Spanish-American War of 1898 and has since governed the island as an unincorporated territory. Since 1898, Congress has debated upwards of 100 bills and enacted 11 laws extending four distinct types of citizenship to Puerto Rico. This website provides a documentary history of the federal citizenship legislation for Puerto Rico.

Published irregularly: 1901, 1903, 1905, 1910, 1911, 1926.

Multiple explanatory articles with embedded primary sources from the British Empire in the Caribbean focused on the 18th and 19th centuries with some earlier documents. Includes illustrations, books, maps, and more.

This digital memorial raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them. European colonizers turned to Africa for enslaved laborers to build the cities and extract the resources of the Americas. They forced millions of mostly unnamed Africans across the Atlantic to the Americas, and from one part of the Americas to another. Analyze these slave trades and view interactive maps, timelines, and animations to see the dispersal in action. [Emory Libraries]

Focused on Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, and Spanish Florida. The Slave Societies Digital Archive (SSDA) is dedicated to identifying, cataloging, and digitally preserving endangered archival materials documenting the history of Africans and their descendants in the Atlantic World. Draws heavily on records from the Catholic church (e.g., baptismal records) and builds with images, maps, and other material.