U.S. History

Pacific

This is a guide to scholarly research and primary source collections related to United States history. Subpages include Boston history, Indigenous people's histories, Caribbean history, as well as African American History.

What's on This Page

This page has a lot on it. You can use the following anchors (links down the page) to jump straight to a relevant box.

Broad Digital Collections

JSTOR Images
A database of more than 1.3 million digital images. It covers many time periods and cultures and represent architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, etc. Users are required to create a personal account to access this database off campus.

Digital Public Library of America
Aggregates digital collections from around the U.S. and offers excellent tools to discover and explore them. Focuses on 17th to 21st centuries.
Europeana
Interface in English or other, major European languages. Content in multiple languages.
Europe-wide unified search of digitized collections. Images, audio, texts, and more. Funded by the EU. Covers more than 1,000 years of history. Strongest for 1500 to 2000.
Open Access.

HathiTrust
A digital repository for the nation's research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the digitized book and serial collections of major universities and other partner institutions, a significant portion of which is in the public domain and available full text. Boston College's status as a partner makes it possible for members of the Boston College community to download any of the out-of-copyright items as PDFs.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Interface in English. Content in English or other languages.
Digitized collections from the Library of Congress, includes manuscripts, books, photos, maps, audio recordings, and more. Strongest between the 17th and 21st centuries. Content dating back to B.C.E.
Open Access.
Smithsonian Institution's Digital Collections
Search over 16 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 5.1 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.

World Digital Library
The World Digital Library is a Library of Congress project sponsored by UNESCO. Items in this digital library, including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps and sound recordings, are individually described and searchable in seven languages. Most countries and regions around the world are represented.

Hawaiian Digital Collections

Hawai'i State Archives Digital Collections
Includes indicies of passenger lists, Official Journals of the Legislature of the Republic of Hawaii, constitutional convention journals, and more.
Ka'iwakiloumoku
A multi-media haven for online cultural learning from KSBE.
Papakilo
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs’ (OHA’s) Papakilo Database, is the ongoing development of a cutting edge and comprehensive “Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history. Includes letter collections, maps, newspapers, indices of names, and more.
Ulukau: The Hawaiian Digital Library
Includes historic newspapers, place names, resources for genealogical research, and more.
University of Hawaii System Repository
Digitized material from collections at Honolulu Community College, Kapiolani Community College, Leeward Community College, UH at Hilo, UH West Oahu, and UH Open Education Resources

Sources: Gov Docs and the Law

Hein Online
HeinOnline is an image-based legal research database with over 50 million pages of legal information in fully-searchable PDF format, comprising over 30 separate collections including Law Journal Library, Legal Classics, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, Treaties and Agreements Library and many others. Additional titles and years are added regularly.
Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications, 1895-1976
Retrospective catalog of U.S. government publications. Coverage 1895-1976.
ProQuest Congressional
Provides access to hearings, published and unpublished from 1824 to the present, congressional committee reports, bills, public laws, selected committee prints, congressional documents, the Congressional Record from the 99th Congress forward, Federal Register from 1980 forward, the current Code of Federal Regulations, and the current US Code.

For additional U.S. Legal History Resources, visit BC Libraries' U.S. Legal History Resources page.

Newspapers and Other Periodicals

Ka Wai Ola Web Edition - Office of Hawaiian Affairs Newspaper
Publication Date: 1980+

Collections

Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
Find full-text articles from historic Hawai'i and U.S. newspapers, between 1836-1922.
Papakilo
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs’ (OHA’s) Papakilo Database, is the ongoing development of a cutting edge and comprehensive “Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history. Includes letter collections, maps, newspapers, indices of names, and more.
Ulukau: The Hawaiian Digital Library
Here is a collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948. The newspaper images can be retrieved by word search, title, or date. This project is built upon the pioneering work of the Māori Niupepa Collection of the University of Waikato in Hamilton, Aotearoa (New Zealand).

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

U.S. History

Pacific

What's on This Page

Broad Digital Collections

Hawaiian Digital Collections

Sources: Gov Docs and the Law

Newspapers and Other Periodicals

Collections