U.S. History

Aggregates digital collections from around the U.S. and offers excellent tools to discover and explore them. Contributing institutions provide access to photographs, government documents, newspaper clippings, books, and other forms of ephemera. Focuses on 17th to 21st centuries.

A digital repository for the nation's research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the digitized book and serial collections of major universities and other partner institutions, a significant portion of which is in the public domain and available full text. Boston College's status as a partner makes it possible for members of the Boston College community to download any of the out-of-copyright items as PDFs.

HathiTrust brings together the digitized book and serial collections of major universities and other partner institutions, a significant portion of which is in the public domain and available full text. Explore 20th century US publications on multiple topics.

HeinOnline is an image-based legal research database with over 50 million pages of legal information in fully-searchable PDF format, comprising over 30 separate collections including Law Journal Library, Legal Classics, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, Treaties and Agreements Library and many others. Additional titles and years are added regularly.

Retrospective catalog of U.S. government publications. Coverage 1895-1976.

Provides access to hearings, published and unpublished from 1824 to the present, congressional committee reports, bills, public laws, selected committee prints, congressional documents, the Congressional Record from the 99th Congress forward, Federal Register from 1980 forward, the current Code of Federal Regulations, and the current US Code.

The World Digital Library is a Library of Congress project sponsored by UNESCO. Items in this digital library, including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps and sound recordings, are individually described and searchable in seven languages. Most countries and regions around the world are represented.

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

Global Insight/DRI Standard and Poor's Database contains United States macroeconomic time series from the financial, manufacturing, and government sectors. Global Insight/DRI Basic Economics contains annual, quarterly, and monthly data on over 6,100 time series, some going back to 1946.

Market research reports covering thousands of industries in the United States at the national and state level, in China and worldwide. Also includes Business Environment Profiles.

Dating back to the mid 1800's, this collection offers over 1,000,000 documents for the United States, Canada and Europe.

Mergent Online will log a user off after 15 minutes of no activity. If you experience time-out issues, please log-in using EagleVPN.

Polling the Nations is a comprehensive collection of public opinion polls containing the full text of more than 700,000 questions and responses from more than 18,000 surveys and 1,700 polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. In 1981 it began, in print format, as American Public Opinion Index (O'Neill Reference & Stacks HM261.A463).

Brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. Covers history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.

Meet the Press, network TVs longest running programincludes thousands of interviews, panels, and debates,1947-2013.

Index of national network television news programs 1968-present. Streaming access for NBC broadcasts 1968-present and some CNN broadcasts 1995-present. Requests for other broadcasts can be made through Interlibrary Loan.

1941-1996, translated news and commentary from across the globe covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues and race relations between 1941-1996. Contains newspapers, magazines, government statements and radio and television broadcasts from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency archives.

The Organizational Records and Personal Papers bring include records of major civil rights organizations (Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, and the National Association of Colored Womens Clubs) and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle. Papers of civil rights leaders included in this module are those of the civil rights and labor leader A. Philip Randolph; the long-time civil rights activist and organizer of the March on Washington, Bayard Rustin, and the papers of the pioneering educator Mary McLeod Bethune. Through records of Claude A. Barnetts Associated Negro Press, also covers other aspects of African American life in the 20th century, like religion, sports, education, fraternal organizations, and even the field of entertainment.

Early Feminist Publications: The Lily, National Citizen and Ballot Box, and the Revolution.

Consists of 6 modules that provide a comprehensive view of the NAACP's evolution, policies, and achievements from 1909 to 1972. Contains internal memos, legal briefings, and detailed activity summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the U.S, documenting the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.

Along with letters, diaries, and oral histories, also includes posters, pamphlets, advertisements.

Primary documents covering U.S. history and women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000. Contains document projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question.

1941-1996, translated news and commentary from across the globe covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues and race relations between 1941-1996. Contains newspapers, magazines, government statements and radio and television broadcasts from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency archives.

Offering access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.