Services for Graduate Students

Consult a subject librarian for help with your research, to set up alerts to new publications and to answer any research and library related questions. Research support services are described in our Research Support guide.

Contact us for general library related questions.

Access and borrowing privileges.

How to request materials from our off-site collections, Interlibrary loan and Worldcat.

Self-service scanners from print to PDF; FAX service; technology center walk-in help.

Suggest items for our collection.

Locate books, videos, dissertations and other items in the Libraries’ collection. Get full-text article access in BC's databases.

Find bibliographic citations for information in your research subject area. Locate full-text resources.

Search for online and print journals in our collection.

Starting points for subject and general research.

The Burns Library is home to more than 250,000 volumes, some 16,000,000 manuscripts and important collections of architectural records, maps, art works, newspapers, photographs, films, prints, artifacts and ephemera.

The Digital Studio in O'Neill Library is a space for faculty, students, and staff to explore resources for analyzing and creating digital media.

A blog newsletter updated weekly. Find out what's happening at the BC Libraries.

Help in best practices for managing, sharing and preserving your data for the long-term, as required by some funding agencies. Data citation best practices.

The DMP Tool helps researchers create a data management plan fitting to their needs and based on agency guidelines. This secure website quickly links to customized help for Boston College researchers. Templates help build DMPs based on agency guidelines. The service includes local support guidelines and contacts in the Boston College Libraries and the Office of Sponsored Research.

A multi-disciplinary data repository for Boston College researchers which makes it easy to upload your research data to improve impact, visibility and access. Deposited data will automatically generate citation information and a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) that can be used to cite your data and link to related publications and presentations or to share with colleagues who request your data.

Support for locating and accessing research data.

This digital repository is a sharing and preservation platform for Boston College scholarship, making it globally accessible.

We provide services and software for Boston College faculty, staff, and students who want to publish an online open access journal.

The Libraries administer a fund that provides money to defray article publishing fees for fully open access journal articles authored by Boston College faculty or students.

Interviews with BC faculty about recent publications.

Learn about the eTD requirements, submission process, and University policy.

We support Zotero and other similar tools.

Learn about the eTD requirements, submission process, and University policy.

Many databases and journals provide current awareness services. Get new article citations and Tables of Contents emailed to keep up with the latest research in your field.

List of various software available in the libraries.

Borrow Apple iPads; Calculators; Dell Laptops; Flat Screen Adapters; Flip Video Cameras; Headphones; and Laptop Power Cords.

Find high-quality course materials that are free or low cost for students.

Submit requests for your course material using Course Resources in Canvas. Request books, articles, cases, digitization or streaming of physical items, and more.

How to add Library resources to your Canvas course.

Information on the instruction program and workshops.

The Digital Studio in O'Neill Library is a space for faculty, students, and staff to explore resources for analyzing and creating digital media.

The CTE sponsors events, seminars, grant programs, and awards, and actively cooperates with departments to support their efforts to enhance and review teaching.

Attend seminars on college teaching, higher learning, and academic life at the Connors Family Learning Center (O’Neill Library, 2nd floor).

Search libraries worldwide to find material owned by BC and beyond. Request items from other libraries including Boston Library Consortium libraries. Items are usually delivered to BC in 2-5 days.

Request materials not owned by Boston College Libraries.

As a member of the Center for Research Libraries we have access to numerous research resources unavailable anywhere else.

You can borrow materials from any of the academic and research libraries in the BLC. Consortium cards may be obtained at the Circulation Desk in O'Neill Library or at the Law Library.

The cognate and theology collections of the BTI make it one of the richest theological library centers in the world. Visit the O'Neill Library or Theology & Ministry Library Circulation Desk for information on borrowing materials from a BTI library.