Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

U.S. History

:

Scholarship

This is a guide to scholarly research and primary source collections related to United States history. Subpages include Boston history, Indigenous people's histories, Caribbean history, as well as African American History.

Welcome to US History Research

This is a guide to doing research on US history at Boston College. For information on finding excellent scholarly material, check out the links below. For access to primary material, explore a diverse set of collections divided into colonial North America, Early Republic, 19th century (incudes Civil War), and contemporary (includes the First and Second World Wars as well as the Cold War) periods. Additional material is available on Indigenous History and History of the Caribbean as well as Boston History.

On This Page:

    Reference Shelf

    For biographies, encyclopedia, and handbooks, visit BC Libraries' Reference Shelf for U.S. history.

    Books: Find & Request from BC & Beyond

    Your local libraries have excellent monographs and anthologies located in O'Neill library as well as through the BC libraries portal. Try searching for books (only books) through the WorldCat library system to see if we have what you need. If we don't, you can order material through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

    WorldCat Catalog


    Books Only   All Formats  

    Journals and E-Books: Major Databases

    Full Text

    Indices and Bibliographies

    Explore these sources for reading suggestions. 

    Journals: Individual Titles

    Subject Librarian for History

    Profile Photo
    Bee Lehman, Ph.D.
    they/them
    Contact:
    Office: O'Neill Library 414A

    Office hours in Stokes S 394 Monday from 11am - 1pm.
    Schedule an Appointment to talk on Google Meet, Zoom, or Skype.
    Skype Contact: brittany.lehman@bc.edu

    Primary Source Subpages

    BC is privileged to have access to a significant number of primary source collections. To provide guidance, those collections are divided into multiple subpages, including: