Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

Citing Sources

:

Citation Tools

Links to online and print citation style guides and citation management tools.

RefWorks Announcement

After careful consideration of cost and the development of alternative open access tools, we have decided that we will be discontinuing RefWorks for the BC community. RefWorks will continue to be available until June 30, 2022 while we help users migrate to other tools.

If you are a current RefWorks user, we encourage you to explore other options and migrate any sources you would like to keep. Library staff are happy to assist you in this migration and to answer questions. Please Ask Us. Also see our instructions for Migrating from RefWorks to Zotero

Basics

  Zotero
Zotero
Mendeley
Mendeley
EndNote
EndNote
Cost

Free

($ for additional cloud storage)

Free for basic edition Cost paid by individuals, labs, or departments
Access Desktop app,  browser plugin, & web account

Desktop app & web account

Desktop app & web interface

Key Strengths

Open Source; Robust notes; Public folder sharing

Robust pdf organizer + pdf annotation; Crowd-sourced citation database; Influence metrics

Comprehensive styles; pdf annotation; Unlimited file storage

Disadvantages 

Support limited to online documentation & user groups

Limited storage; Institutional account web-based only, with no export option

Expensive
Help Guides BC Zotero Guide Mendeley Tutorials Endnote Training
Help Contacts

steven.runge@bc.edu

chris.strauber@bc.edu

sarah.barbrow@bc.edu

enid.karr@bc.edu

enid.karr@bc.edu

sarah.barbrow@bc.edu

Core Functions

  zotero logo
Zotero
Mendeley
Mendeley
EndNote
EndNote
Adding References
  • Import via browser plugin from library catalog, databases, web, or via doi
  • Import bibliographic files
  • Auto-retrieval from pdf files
  • Import via browser plugin from library catalog, databases, web.
  • Import bibliographic files.
  • Auto-retrieval from pdf files
  • Import from catalog & databases; reference capture from web 
  • Import bibliographic files
  • Auto-retrieval from pdf files
Creating citations
and bibliography

Add via plugins to

  • MS Word
  • Google Docs
  • LibreOffice

Add via plugins to

  •  MS Word
  • OpenOffice

Add via Cite-While-you-Write to

  • MS Word
  • OpenOffice
Collaborating
  • Share group libraries via syncing or online
  • Public or private
  • Shared groups for citations
  • Limited sharing for pdf's
  • Share library with up to 100 other EndNote desktop users
Storage
  • Desktop: unlimited
  • Cloud: 300mb free, more for fee
  • Desktop: Unlimited
  • Cloud: 2GB free, more for fee
  • Unlimited