U.S. History

Aggregates digital collections from around the U.S. and offers excellent tools to discover and explore them. Focuses on 17th to 21st centuries.

Interface in English or other, major European languages. Content in multiple languages.
Europe-wide unified search of digitized collections. Images, audio, texts, and more. Funded by the EU. Covers more than 1,000 years of history. Strongest for 1500 to 2000.
Open Access.

Interface in English. Content in English or other languages.
Digitized collections from the Library of Congress, includes manuscripts, books, photos, maps, audio recordings, and more. Strongest between the 17th and 21st centuries. Content dating back to B.C.E.
Open Access.

Search over 16 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 5.1 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.

University of Washington's extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.

The Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Collection includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's. In 1998, the images were digitized and drawn from the library collections of three of the Montana State University campuses (Billings, Bozeman and Havre), the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana.

Printed materials and manuscripts focused on overland narratives, the cattle trade, and the Rocky Mountain West collected by Philip Ashton Rollins, Class of 1889. Over the course of six decades, the collection expanded to include indigenous languages and the history of the American Indian, the Spanish Southwest, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS), territorial imprints, and photography of the American West.

Includes historical newspapers, photographs, maps, and local NAACP Digital Collection.

"Our websites, catalog records, finding aids, and digital images enhance scholarship and promote use of both digital and physical objects. A critical component of our mission is to “inspire curiosity about all the people, places, and events that have shaped Oregon,” and providing free and open access to our collections is key to executing that mission."

The collections are comprised of unique digitized and born-digital materials including photographs, articles, sheet music, manuscripts, ephemera, and more.

The history of Seattle's civil rights movements to life with scores of video oral histories, hundreds of rare photographs, documents, movement histories, and personal biographies.

This site features materials such as photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media from the University of Washington Libraries .

The Washington State Digital Archives is the nation's first archives dedicated specifically to the preservation of electronic records from both State and Local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value.

Sources of information about Washington women’s history from partners across the state. Includes rich primary sources in "Oral History Projects," "Milestones in Women's History," "Elected Washington Women," and other links.

Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive, Clark Co. (WA) historic collections, and WSU Vancouver Historic Photographs and Documents.

A collaborative project between the Clark County Historical Museum and the Washington State University Vancouver Library. The current featured collection includes issues of The Vancouver Independent, one of the first newspapers of the Washington Territory published in Clark County. Issues for this collection cover a range from January 1876 to December 1888 .

On this site you can search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP). This full-text searchable database contains over 1,300,000 pages from Oregon newspapers dated 1846 - 2020, and we are continually adding new titles.

Brings together over 400,000 pages from our earliest online Washington Territorial newspaper collection with titles digitized by the state library as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) and the Institute of Museum and Library Services’ (IMLS) Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA).

A project of Washington State University Vancouver, the Idaho State Historical Society, Oregon Historical Society, Washington State Historical Society, and Washington State University Pullman. Funded by a grant from the Institute for Museum and Library Services(2002-2004), the collaborative project sought to create a database with thematic coherence that would engage online researchers in thinking more deeply about the significance of the rich primary resources available in museums, libraries, and historical societies.