U.S. History

This page has a lot on it. You can use the following anchors (links down the page) to jump straight to a relevant box.

"Black nationalism is the political and social thought as well as the collective strivings of African Americans seeking political, economic, and cultural autonomy in American society. At its center, black nationalism embodies the worldview that all Africans are linked to each other throughout the diaspora by the common ties of history, shared oppression, and destiny in Africa and New World societies. In the contemporary period, 'black nationalism,' owing to its diasporan ethos, has frequently been used interchangeably with 'Pan-Africanism'" (Gayle T. Tate in a 2005 encyclopedia article on "Black Nationalism").

"...abolitionist and founder of the first black Freemasonic lodge, probably received his manumission from William Hall, a Boston leather-dresser, and his wife Susannah in 1770" (for more, see the African American National Biography).

"African American religious leader, abolitionist, social activist, and first black bishop of the Episcopal Church..." (for more see The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895).

Select writing:

"...wealthy black sea captain and Pan-Africanist..." (for more, see The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619–1895).

Select writing:

Writings about and ephemera:

"African American abolitionist, civil rights activist, and advocate of African independence, best known for the fiery pamphlet he wrote in 1829..." (for more, see Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience).

Select writing:

"American women's rights activist, orator, writer, educator, first U.S.-born woman to speak publicly on political issues before a mixed-gender audience" (for more, see the Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience).

Select writing:

"...black nationalist and land promoter known as “Pap...” (for more, see Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience). 

Ephemera

"... a prominent African American intellectual of the nineteenth century. Martin Robison Delany was at once a doctor, political activist, journalist, author, and military officer..." (for more, see The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619–1895).

Select writing:

Representations of/Texts About

"...minister, author, editor, and activist..." (for more see the African American National Biography).

Select writing:

Writing about and ephemera:

"...educator, journalist, and editor..." (for more, see the Black Women in America, 2nd ed.).

Select writing:

"...black nationalist, Haitian emigrationist, and Episcopal bishop..." (See The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography for more).

Select writing:

Writings about and ephemera:

"...is almost unknown to history, except that in 1829, he published The Ethiopian Manifesto: Issued in Defence of the Black Man's Rights in the Scale of Universal Freedom, under the nom de plume of Rednaxela, his middle name spelled backward..." (for more, see the African American National Biography)

Select writing:

"African Methodist Episcopal Church leader, Reconstruction-era Georgia politician, outspoken defender of African American rights, prominent leader of back-to-Africa movements, and supporter of the American Colonization Society" (for more, see Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience).

Select writing:

Writing about and ephemera:

"...teacher, activist..." (for more, see Black Women in America, 2nd ed.).

Select writing:

"American social scientist, author, educator, civil rights leader, and Pan-Africanist..." (The Dictionary of African Biography).

Select writing:

Writing about and ephemera:

"...black nationalist and pan-Africanist," who developed the Universal Negro Improvement Association (for more information see The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography)

Select writing:

Writing about and ephemera:

"...black nationalist who established the Peace Movement of Ethiopia..."

Note that scholars have been downplaying women's involvement in black nationalism for decades. The Oxford Reference volumes only mentions Mittie Maud Lena Gordon and does not include an entry on her life and work. Recently, there have been some books and journal articles that discuss her life as well as a Wikipedia article you can access.

Writing about and ephemera:

"... journalist and pan-Africanist..." (for more see The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography).

Select writing:

Writings about and ephemera:

"...political activist..." instrumental in the development of the movement for Reparations (for more, see the Black Women in America, 2nd ed.).

Writings about and ephemera:

"Primary founder of the Nation of Islam" (for more see Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience). 

"...civil rights activist who was instrumental in founding the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC)..." (for more, see The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present). 

Select writing:

Writings about and ephemera:

"...writer and activist..." (for more see the The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present).

Select writing:

Writings on and Ephemera

"...anticolonial politician, Pan-Africanist, socialist, and first president of independent Ghana..." (for more see The Dictionary of African Biography)

Select writing:

Writings about and ephemera:

Select writing:

Writings about and ephemera:

Select writing:

Writing about and ephemera:

"...author, activist, essayist, film critic, and educator..." (for more, see The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present).

Select writing:

Select writing:

"...activist and writer who popularized the 'Black Power' slogan in the 1960s..." (for more, see The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present).

Select writing:

Writings about and ephemera:

Select writing:

"...a leader of the Black Power movement and a scholar..." (for more, see the The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present).

Select writing:

Writings about and ephemera:

"...activist, philosopher, Marxist, and professor. Angela Davis was born 26 January 1944, in Birmingham, Alabama, in an area that was so frequently bombed by the Ku Klux Klan it was known as Dynamite Hill..." (for more, see The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present).

Select writing:

Writing about and ephemera: