U.S. History

A digital repository for the nation's research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the digitized book and serial collections of major universities and other partner institutions, a significant portion of which is in the public domain and available full text. Boston College's status as a partner makes it possible for members of the Boston College community to download any of the out-of-copyright items as PDFs.

HeinOnline is an image-based legal research database with over 50 million pages of legal information in fully-searchable PDF format, comprising over 30 separate collections including Law Journal Library, Legal Classics, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, Treaties and Agreements Library and many others. Additional titles and years are added regularly.

1914-1991, topically-focused digital collections of historical documents from the Middle East and North Africa

Declassified documents on the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century

Provides access to hearings, published and unpublished from 1824 to the present, congressional committee reports, bills, public laws, selected committee prints, congressional documents, the Congressional Record from the 99th Congress forward, Federal Register from 1980 forward, the current Code of Federal Regulations, and the current US Code.

Collection provides access to over 750,000 pages of government documents from 1900 to 2008. Covering major policy issues from the period before the World War II into the twenty-first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. U.S. Declassified Documents Online supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.

U.S. intelligence communitys spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Irans nuclear program.