Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Historical News

:

Historical Newspaper

This is a short guide to historical news in newspaper, film, video, television, as well as audio.

Finding Historical News

This page provides access points to Boston College Libraries' access to historical news from the 17th to the 21st centuries. It's strengths are in U.S. and British 19th and 20th century news. 

For U.S. collections, see the first box of "U.S. Newspapers" with larger collections on the first tab and then regional or individual titles on the subpages. 

For collections of papers outside the U.S. (i.e., Britain, China, etc.) see the second box. Note that for collections outside of the U.S., material is often in languages other than English. We do, however, have some subscriptions to translated news.  

U.S. Newspapers

Collections

Individual Titles

Collections

Individual Titles

International Newspapers

Collections

Individual Titles

Collections

Individual Titles

Foreign Translated News

Historical Online Indexes

Though we do not own direct fulltext access, these papers can be searched online and fulltext requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Microfilm Highlights @ BC

Several newspapers are available in microform at O'Neill Library, including:

  • Atlanta Daily World (1931–2013)
  • Boston Evening Transcript
    (1848–1915)
  • Boston Herald (1848–1977)
  • Boston Pilot (1829–2007)
  • Cleveland Call & Post (1934–2003)
  • Los Angeles Times (1970–2009)
  • Philadelphia Tribune (1912–2003)
  • Pittsburgh Courier (1923–1977)

These papers and others are shelved on O'Neill Level 1 by title.

Microfilm @ BPL

Boston Public Library offers the most complete collection of Boston-area newspapers on microfilm, as well as other titles from Massachusetts and beyond.

Microfilm @ CRL

Center for Research Libraries has a large collection of U.S. and foreign newspapers.

Mostly on microfilm, our membership with CRL entitles the BC community to borrow large amounts of this material for extended periods.