Skip to main content
Chat With Us

African History

:

Approaching the History of Africa

This is a guide to sources available through Boston College on African history.

Finding Sources by Type

This is a guide to preliminary research into African History. Please contact your subject librarian if you would like assistance. 

    Reference Shelf for Bibliographies and Encyclopedias

    Books: Find & Request from BC & Beyond

    Your local libraries have excellent monographs and anthologies located in O'Neill library as well as through the BC libraries portal. Try searching for books (only books) through the WorldCat library system to see if we have what you need. If we don't, you can order material through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

    WorldCat Catalog


    Books Only   All Formats  

    Books: Accessing the Stacks at O'Neill

    The stacks at O'Neill Library are organized in accordance with Library of Congress (LOC) subjects. For you, that means the first two letters of a "call number" will guide you to your subject. To access Boston College's books on DT, look in the library catalog or on the shelves for "DT."

    For further subdivisions, you might look for:

    • DT160-177 North Africa 
    • DT181-346 Maghrib. Barbary States (includes Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, and the Sahara)
    • DT365-545 Eastern Africa (includes Eritrea, Somalia, Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, etc.)
    • DT470-671 West Africa (includes Upper and Lower Guinea, Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Benin, Côte d'Ivoire, Gabon, Congo, CAR, Chad, Niger, Senegal, Mali, Mauritania, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Togo, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome and Principe, Liberia, Democratic Republic of Congo)
    • DT1001-1190 Southern Africa (Angola, Namibia, South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi, Mozambique, etc.)

    Journal and eBook Databases

    For a selection of excellent journals and some e-books on various topics in global history, we recommend a few databases. Remember to explore these database "advanced search" options for date and other modifiers before you run your searches.

    Journal Recommendations

    Maps

    Newspapers and Periodicals

    Podcasts about Scholarship on African History

    Subject Librarian for History

    Brittany Lehman, Ph.D.'s picture
    Brittany Lehman, Ph.D.
    Contact:
    O'Neill Library 414A

    Office hours:
    M 1-2 in Fishbowl in Stokes S
    W 11-12 in O'Neill 414A
    Skype Contact: brittany.lehman@bc.edu
    Subjects:History

    African & African Diaspora Studies Librarian