Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

Asian History

:

Scholarly Research

This is a brief guide to the material available to Boston College faculty and students on subjects in Asian in history (understood including central, south, east, and south-east Asia).

Resources for Studying Asian History

This is a short guide to approaching research in Asian history (broadly defined). See below for some suggestions for reference material (e.g., dictionaries, encyclopedia, and more) as well as access to scholarly books and journal articles. 

What's on This Page

This page has a lot on it. You can use the following anchors (links down the page) to jump straight to a relevant box.

    Reference Shelf

    For a full list of BC Libraries' dictionaries, encyclopedia, bibliographies, and more see the Asian History Reference Shelf (tab in subpage menu).

    Finding Books at Boston College

    Your local libraries have excellent monographs and anthologies located in O'Neill library as well as through the BC libraries portal. Try searching for books (only books) through the WorldCat library system to see if we have what you need. If we don't, you can order material through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

    WorldCat Catalog


    Books Only   All Formats  


    To find books in Asian History (defined broadly), you can either search in the catalog for print and electronic material, or you can head straight up to the stacks in O'Neill to browse. For example, most books on Asian history call under the "DS" set (on the fifth floor).

    Within that set, you might be interested in:

    • ​DS1-937 History of Asia
    • DS401-(486.8) India
    • DS701-799.9 China 
    • DS801-897 Japan
    • DS901-937 Korea
    • HQs A significant portion of histories involving women. LOC has a long, problematic legacy for classification. 

    Journal and eBook Database Recommendations in English

    For a selection of excellent journals and some e-books on various topics in global history, we recommend a few databases. Remember to explore these database "advanced search" options for date and other modifiers before you run your searches.

    Additional Recommendations

    Journals from Asia

    Additional Journal and e-Book Databases

    Recommended Journals

    This list focuses on a handful of journals BC has access to online. Take a look at our Journal Search to check for other titles. Be encourage you to order material we don't have access to through your BC ILL account.

    Studies Focus

    National Libraries, Archives, and Museums

    History Librarian

    Profile Photo
    Bee Lehman, Ph.D.
    they/them
    Contact:
    Office: O'Neill Library 414A

    Office hours in Stokes S 394 Monday from 11am - 1pm.
    Schedule an Appointment to talk on Google Meet, Zoom, or Skype.
    Skype Contact: brittany.lehman@bc.edu