Latin American History

The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.

Cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

The Latin American Digital Initiatives (LADI) repository is a collaborative project that preserves and provides digital access to unique archival documents from a network of Latin American partners with an emphasis on collections documenting human rights issues and underrepresented communities. Strongest in the 20th century but includes some material back to the 16th, particularly for Mexico.

From 1992-2015, the Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at The University of Texas at Austin has been the institutional home of the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC).

Chile’s National Library includes a selection of digitized maps, photographs, and other documents including newspapers and curated presidential collections.

Interface in English, content predominately in Spanish.
Digital facsimiles of photographs, government and administrative documents, archeological reports, educational reports, correspondence and letters, and more. Focused on the 19th and 20th centuries.
Open Access.

Interface and content in Spanish.
53 interviews collected between 2008 and 2013 with former parliamentarians.

Chile’s digital repository includes some scholarship as well as more than 10,000 digitized maps, engravings, photos, and documents from the colonial period to 1999, with emphasis on the 19th and 20th centuries. Collections also include a subset of both audio material and film.

Interface and content in Spanish.
"Bienvenido a la Biblioteca Digital del Centro de Documentación del Museo de la Memoria y los Derechos Humanos, un recurso de acceso público a nuestro patrimonio, constituido por diversas colecciones de objetos y documentos." Includes photographs, audio, letters, and other ephemera. Focused on later 20th century.

Documenting the spirit, force, and iconography of political protest during the dictatorship of Gen. Augusto Pinochet.

Interface in English, content in English and Spanish.
The Chilean coup of 11th September 1973 led to an international outcry when Salvador Allende’s socialist Popular Unity (UP) government was overthrown by General Augusto Pinochet’s military junta.The Modern Records Centre's collections contain significant archive material relating to the Chile Solidarity Campaign and reception of Chilean refugees in Britain. A small selection of just over 200 items are showcased in this digital collection.

Interface and content in Spanish.
This website platform provides access to Chilean feature films, documentaries and short films online. It brings together over 800 Chilean feature films, documentaries, and short films. Online access is provided by major Chilean video sites such as Archivo Digital de la Cineteca Nacional, Cinetecavirtual.cl, Cinépata, and arcoiris.tv.

Interface and content in Spanish.
This virtual library provides access to Chilean heritage audiovisual materials available on the Internet. Includes a great variety of videos ranging from short films and feature films such as the Chilean classic El húsar de la muerte (1925) to television programs. Created by Arcoiris TV and the National Council of Culture and the Arts.

Interface and content in Spanish.
custodia más de 170 mil fotografías, 728 filmes, 200 U-matic y 91 metros lineales de archivos textuales, los cuales pone a disposición de la comunidad a través de esta plataforma.

Hein Online collection of country constitutions, constitutional hierarchies , and texts and journals on constitutional law. Includes fundamental laws of Chile in English translation.

Interface and content predominately in Spanish.
"AMÉRICALEE , which with its name wants to pay tribute to an Argentine publishing company of libertarian culture of the 1940s, is a portal from where you can access digital facsimile editions of Latin American magazines from the late 19th and entire 20th centuries."
Open Access.

Extensive list of Latin American newspapers, grouped by country

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
Access to AI's more recent country and research reports beginning in 1961 and moving to the present.
Open Access.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
HRW's reports from 1987 forward. Can search by country, year, keyword, and topic.
Open Access.

Includes key OECD publications such as: Financial Market Trends, Higher Education Management and Policy, Nuclear Law Bulletin, OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Economic Studies, OECD Economic Surveys, OECD Journal of Competition Law & Policy, and OECD Papers. Cover from 1990s onward.

ODS is the UN's Official Document System. You can search for UN documents by keywords, then narrow your search.

This web site at George Washington University collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Includes the Chile Documentation Project.

The Dept. of State Formulation maintains records about the formulation and execution of U.S. Foreign Policy; Administration and operations of the Department of State and U.S. Missions abroad; as well as Consular assistance given to U.S. Citizens abroad.
Open Access.