Latin American History

Nicaragua in Primary Sources

This is a guide to getting started in research in Latin American history at Boston College.

This page has a lot on it. You can use the following anchors (links down the page) to jump straight to a relevant box.

JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
A database of more than 1.3 million digital images. It covers many time periods and cultures and represent architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, etc. Users are required to create a personal account to access this database off campus.

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.
Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
Cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
more...less...
Collections:
News
Caribbean Map Collection
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library Caribbean Haitian Law Haitian Law
Panama and the Canal
dLOC: Teaching Guides & Materials
Vodou Archive

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A digital repository for the nation's research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the digitized book and serial collections of major universities and other partner institutions, a significant portion of which is in the public domain and available full text. Boston College's status as a partner makes it possible for members of the Boston College community to download any of the out-of-copyright items as PDFs.

Latin American Digital Initiatives Repository
The Latin American Digital Initiatives (LADI) repository is a collaborative project that preserves and provides digital access to unique archival documents from a network of Latin American partners with an emphasis on collections documenting human rights issues and underrepresented communities. Strongest in the 20th century but includes some material back to the 16th, particularly for Mexico.
Latin American Network Information Center: Digital Initiatives
From 1992-2015, the Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at The University of Texas at Austin has been the institutional home of the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC).

World Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The World Digital Library is a Library of Congress project sponsored by UNESCO. Items in this digital library, including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps and sound recordings, are individually described and searchable in seven languages. Most countries and regions around the world are represented.

Newspapers of the first half of the twentieth century in Nicaragua (EAP571 with the EAP)
Working on:
- El Comercio 1903-1916 and 1918-1919
- La Noticia 1916-1917 and 1937-1940
- El Diario Nicaragüense 1910-1916
- La Tribuna 1917-1925 and 1928
- La Prensa 1936-1940
- El Liberal 1935-1936
Biblioteca Enrique Bolaños
Includes the presidential library of Bolaños (President of Nicaragua, 2002-2007). This includes speeches, writings, agendas, declarations, and other materials.

Wilson Center Digital Archive
from the Wilson Center, includes declassified documents, images, oral history transcripts and the Database on Inter-Korean Relations

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Declassified documents on the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century

National Security Archive
This web site at George Washington University collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Includes documents on the Cuban Missile Crisis and the Iran Contra controversy.
Bill Gentile Photojournalism Collection (American University)
Bill Gentile was Newsweek Magazine's Contract Photographer for Latin America and the Caribbean. His collection (1983-2002) of over 30,000 images covers 16 Caribbean and Latin American countries including Cuba, El Salvador, Haiti, and Nicaragua. A selection has been digitized.
Open Access.
Muralism in Revolutionary Nicaragua-The Henry Houser Collection (Knox College)
Digital facsimiles of "Henry Houser's research in Nicaragua focused on murals painted approximately between 1985 and 1993. During that time an international solidarity movement was present in support of the Sandinistas. Some murals produced during this time were done so with help of outside funding and with technical and artistic assistance by artists from Europe."
Open Access.
Sam L. Slick Collection of Latin American and Iberian Posters, ca. 1970-2000
Contains posters from all over Latin America and Iberia. Those from Bolivia, Brazil, Cuba, El Salvador, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Panama, Nicaragua, and Spain have been digitized. Many others are not yet digitized but they are also available at UNM. They address themes such as elections, imperialism, solidarity, human rights, and revolution.

Amnesty International Library
Interface and content in English (and other languages).
Access to AI's more recent country and research reports beginning in 1961 and moving to the present.
Open Access.
Human Rights Watch Reports
Interface and content in English (and other languages).
HRW's reports from 1987 forward. Can search by country, year, keyword, and topic.
Open Access.

Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Studies Online provides documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide. The collection includes text and video that give voice to the countless victims of human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries committed during the Holocaust, and in Armenia, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and other locations.
BC login necessary.

For additional suggestions, visit BC Libraries' Human Rights History research guide.

OECD iLibrary
Includes key OECD publications such as: Financial Market Trends, Higher Education Management and Policy, Nuclear Law Bulletin, OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Economic Studies, OECD Economic Surveys, OECD Journal of Competition Law & Policy, and OECD Papers. Cover from 1990s onward.
United Nations Documents
ODS is the UN's Official Document System. You can search for UN documents by keywords, then narrow your search.

For additional international organizations' primary source sets, see the cooresponding Global History Research Guide.