Latin American History

The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.

Cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

The Latin American Digital Initiatives (LADI) repository is a collaborative project that preserves and provides digital access to unique archival documents from a network of Latin American partners with an emphasis on collections documenting human rights issues and underrepresented communities. Strongest in the 20th century but includes some material back to the 16th, particularly for Mexico.

From 1992-2015, the Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at The University of Texas at Austin has been the institutional home of the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC).

Interface in English, content predominately in Spanish.
"Inforpress Centroamericana was an enterprise established in 1972. Its primary objective was to analyze and present, in a professional journalistic style, economic, political, and social information of the Central American region. Inforpress used national and regional press and archival sources to achieve its objective. These sources were compiled and organized by Inforpress during various stages from 1972 to 2005, creating an archive of press clippings and documents that has been considered as “the most important in Central America.”[1] Among the topics it covers, the “Violence in Guatemala” series stands out, comprised of 51 binders with approximately 19,690 newspaper clippings."
Open Access.

Facsimiles hosted on the British Library. Interface in English, content visual.
"The photographs in this fund portray the architecture and historical monuments of the city of Quetzaltenango (or Xela as it is usually called), its people and significant historical events between about 1898 and 1950. In these photographs one can see buildings, squares, parks and churches which are emblematic of the city. Furthermore, he portrays a large number of people from the highlands, including the villages near Xela: San Martín Sacatepéquez, San Cristóbal Totonicapán, Almolonga, Cajolá, Tejutla San Marcos, Cantel, Concepción Chiquirichapa, Zunil and others. "
Open Access.

Hosted by the British Library. Interface in English, content visual.
"Monuments of Antigua Guatemala (churches, convents, hermitages, parroquías) that allow us to explore the ruins of this city as they were in the late 19th century and early 20th; other words, without the damage caused by earthquakes in 1917-18 , 1942 and 1976, and before many of them were destroyed. There is a considerable amount of portraits of people belonging to different social strata of Antigua Guatemala, among which the popular types, as well as the genre of mortuory portrait and religious images."
Open Access.

Includes access points for multiple digital collection focused particularly on Mexico, Latin American United States, and Guatemala in the late 19th and 20th centuries. Includes "Revolution and Counterrevolution in Guatemala, 1944-1963," "Genaro García Collection: Broadsides and Circulars," and more.
Open Access.

Interface in English, content predominately in Spanish.
"This collection features broadsides from the Kenneth Spencer Research Library's William J. Griffith Collection of Guatemala and Central America. Dating from the 1820s to 1922, the broadsides are primarily Guatemalan, with a smaller number from Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, and Nicaragua. Many pertain to national and local politics and include election materials, political manifestos, and government pronouncements."
Open Access.

Interface in English, content in English as well as Spanish or Castilian.
"An unparalleled archive of gray literature (published and unpublished documents, pronouncements, action alerts, press releases, flyers, newsclippings, correspondence, and other types of ephemeral material), serials, and policy reports representing the actions and views of activist groups, government officers and politicians, journalists, international solidarity groups, as well as revolutionary organizations."
Open Access.

This collection contains 3 16mm color films and 64 slides depicting scenes from Mexico and Guatemala circa 1940, created by William Fisher. The entire collection has been digitized.
Open Access.

A product of broad international collaboration, these digitized documents from the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive (AHPN) aim to facilitate scholarly and legal research into a vast cache of historical documentation. The discovery of the National Police Historical Archive in 2005 opened an extensive and timely resource for the study of Guatemalan history and human rights in the region, spanning a broad array of topics from Guatemala's armed conflict between 1960 and 1996 to the sexually transmitted disease experiments performed at the behest of the United States government in the 1940s. This site currently includes over 10 million scanned images of documents from the National Police Historical Archive. This digital archive mirrors and extends the physical archive that remains preserved in Guatemala as an important historical patrimony of the Guatemalan people.

Hein Online collection of country constitutions, constitutional hierarchies , and texts and journals on consitutional law.

Contains 149 oral histories, which were collected in western Guatemala during the 1960s and 1970s.

The Institute currently has more than 55,000 video testimonies, each one a unique source of insight and knowledge that offers powerful stories from history that demand to be explored and shared. The testimonies are preserved in the Visual History Archive, one of the largest digital collections of its kind in the world. They average a little over two hours each in length and were conducted in 65 countries and 43 languages. Includes sections on the Holocaust, Cambodia, Guatemala, and more.
Open Access, individual users must register.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
Access to AI's more recent country and research reports beginning in 1961 and moving to the present.
Open Access.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
HRW's reports from 1987 forward. Can search by country, year, keyword, and topic.
Open Access.

Includes key OECD publications such as: Financial Market Trends, Higher Education Management and Policy, Nuclear Law Bulletin, OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Economic Studies, OECD Economic Surveys, OECD Journal of Competition Law & Policy, and OECD Papers. Cover from 1990s onward.

ODS is the UN's Official Document System. You can search for UN documents by keywords, then narrow your search.

Open Access.

The Dept. of State Formulation maintains records about the formulation and execution of U.S. Foreign Policy; Administration and operations of the Department of State and U.S. Missions abroad; as well as Consular assistance given to U.S. Citizens abroad. Includes the Guatemala Declassification Project focused on 1984 to 1995.
Open Access.