Global History

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
Access to AI's more recent country and research reports beginning in 1961 and moving to the present.
Open Access.

Contains news and full-text legal documents.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
HRW's reports from 1987 forward. Can search by country, year, keyword, and topic.
Open Access.

Research guide to UN materials dealing with human rights, with links to full text when available. Includes the UN Yearbook on Human Rights published for the years 1946-1988.

The Human Rights Council is an inter-governmental body within the United Nations system made up of 47 States responsible for the promotion and protection of all human rights around the globe. Site includes informational notes and media, but not back logs of reports.
For the Council in the UN Digital Library, which includes some national reports from the 2000s, visit this page.

Includes curated of digital facsimiles of U.S. government and other states' documents related to human rights considerations across the world. Focuses on the 20th and 21st centuries.

More than 20,000 documents related in some way to "human rights" housed in different archives, museums, and libraries across the European continent. Includes documents, photographs, posters, archived websites, and more.

Comprehensive site includes full-text documents, treaties, international agreements, and more.

Captures and archives freely available human rights websites, blogs and other resources created by non-governmental organizations, national human rights institutions, and individuals. The collection currently includes over 50 million pages of web content in 60 languages, and covers a broad range of human rights issues, such as genocide, torture, war crimes, transitional justice, political prisoners, disappeared persons, human trafficking, women's rights, refugees, indigenous peoples' rights.

Materials from (or related to) the refugee camp for Cuban and Haitian rafters that existed in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, the bulk of which dates from 1994-1996.

Darrin Zammit Lupi is a photojournalist based in Malta. This archive comprises two bodies of documentary work. This series includes over 1800 digital files containing low-resolution images, contact sheets, and a group of news articles. The second project, "On Board the MV Aquarius", comprises color photographs and supporting image files, documents, data, videos, news stories, and interviews compiled by Lupi in December, 2017, while on board the Aquarius, a migrant search and rescue ship operated by the non-profit organizations SOS Méditerranée and Médecins sans frontières; while there, he documented the rescue of 320 migrants in the Mediterranean Sea, and their safe arrival in Pozzallo, Sicily. All prints measure 20x24 inches.

The Deena Stryker photographs collection contains photographs, negatives, and contact sheets generated by the journalist then known as Deena Boyer during two trips to Cuba between July 1963 and July 1964, as well as exhibit prints produced in 2010. Topics and photographic subjects include key members of the revolutionary government at work and relaxing; and life in Havana and in rural Cuba, focusing on shops, street scenes, rallies, farms, development projects, and schools.

Documentary photographer, writer, and lecturer based in Florida. A collection of 100 16x20 black-and-white gelatin silver prints shot by Gary Monroe from 1980 to 1998 in Haiti, in Haitian neighborhoods in Florida, and in Krome Camp, Florida, where Haitian refugees are detained by the U.S. government.

1,960 audiocassettes, 1,663 open-reel audio tapes, 5 digital audio tapes, and 37 VHS video tapes from Radio Haiti-Inter, documenting Haitian politics, society and culture from 1957 to 2003 (bulk 1972-2003). More that 5,500 items available online.

Oral histories, transcriptions, videos, and fieldnotes created by students in Doc Studies 321S-01/ AMES 320S at Duke University/Center for Documentary Studies, 2015-2018. The courses were facilitated by CDS Faculty member Nancy Kalow, AMES faculty member miriam cooke, and AMES faculty member Maha Houssami.

Video for Social Change was a documentary film course taught by Bruce Orenstein at the Center for Documentary Studies in the spring of 2014. The collection includes eight interviews, with North Carolina social justice activists James Andrews, Rukiya Dillahunt, Anita Earls, Angaza Laughinghouse, Dani Moore, Allison Riggs, Melinda Wiggins, and Mel Williams.

Hein Online collection of country constitutions, constitutional hierarchies , and texts and journals on consitutional law.

Contains a selection of articles, documents, and links related to 20th century human rights cases across the world.

Provide access to the trial records from the Special Panels for Serious Crimes in East Timor (SPSC).
Open Access.

Marshall T. Meyer was an activist rabbi who worked in Argentina during the period of the Dirty War/El Proceso (mid 1970s to mid 1980s). he collection contains personal and professional correspondence from throughout Meyer's career as a religious leader and human rights activist; his published and unpublished writings and speeches; and more.