Latin American History

The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.

Cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

The Latin American Digital Initiatives (LADI) repository is a collaborative project that preserves and provides digital access to unique archival documents from a network of Latin American partners with an emphasis on collections documenting human rights issues and underrepresented communities. Strongest in the 20th century but includes some material back to the 16th, particularly for Mexico.

From 1992-2015, the Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at The University of Texas at Austin has been the institutional home of the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC).

The project created a digital archive of approximately 130,000 high quality digital images, catalogued and with basic metadata, from the archives in Quibdo, Carmen de Atrato and Buenaventura, Colombia. Available for search in the Slave Societies Digital Archive.

The AGN is an entity of the national order attached to the Ministry of Culture, responsible for the organization and direction of the National Archives System -SNA, to govern the archival policy in our country and to guard, protect and protect the documentary heritage that it preserves.

provides online open access to hundreds of books and magazines, photographs, historical maps, online exhibits, academic publications, and audio-visual resources.

Provides online access to complete books of Colombian literature, articles about historical primary sources, manuscripts, rare books, audio recordings, maps, photographs, plates,and others. Materials available through this date from around 1490 to the twenty-first century born-digital documents. Some highlights from this resources are "Gaboteca" (a page with special resources about the life and work of Gabriel Garcia Marquez, including excerpts from his novels read by Garcia Marquez himself), and "Biblioteca Básica de Cultura Colombiana" section (provides access to the full texts of classic Colombian literature).

The "Centro Nacional de Memoria Histórica" (CNMH) is Colombia's State institution in charge of building historical memory related with the country's long-standing political violence collecting. The CNMH provides online access to research reports, videos, handouts, documentaries, pedagogical tool-kits, and other resources, relevant for understanding Colombia's political violence.

This is Colombia's largest museum of art and history, established in 1824. The Museum's website offers online access to online exhibits, and to publications about art and museum curating. This page also provides information and news about the Museum's current and past exhibits, news an event information.

Site in Spanish and English.
This site from Colombia's official department of statistics, provides online access to a large range of statistics on diverse economic activities and demographic data. Data is available for topics as agriculture, environment, education, health, market prices, technology, national finances, industry, international trade, cultural activities, and others.
Open Access.

Profamilia is an independent nonprofit organization, which provids services and conducts research about sexual health in Colombia. Profamilia conduct the largest national survey concerning health and demography in the country: the National Survey of Demography and Health (ENDS). The ENDS survey is conducted every 5 years since 1990, and is available online until 2010.

Hein Online collection of country constitutions, constitutional hierarchies , and texts and journals on consitutional law. Includes "Constitutions and Fundamental Laws" from Colombia in English from across the 19th and 20th centuries.

Provides online access to Colombia's political constitution, relevant regulations, laws, and information and links to the main governmental offices in the country. It also provides an archive of speeches, news, and other information related with Colombia's national government.

Includes unique primary sources on 17th to 20th-century Colombian history and culture. The result of a half-century of collecting on three continents, the collection is one of the largest and most wide-ranging in the United States. The collection includes books, manuscripts, broadsides, pamphlets (including novenas), royal cedulas, programas, and newspapers.

This is Colombia's national agency in charge of producing official maps and geographical data in Colombia. This site provides online access to interactive maps showing geographical and land's characteristics of Colombia's territory, as well as statistical information and some historical maps.

Interface and content predominately in Spanish.
"AMÉRICALEE , which with its name wants to pay tribute to an Argentine publishing company of libertarian culture of the 1940s, is a portal from where you can access digital facsimile editions of Latin American magazines from the late 19th and entire 20th centuries."
Open Access.

Extensive list of Latin American newspapers, grouped by country

"Zapata Olivella, noted Afro-Colombian novelist, anthropologist, folklorist, physician and playwright was known throughout Latin America as the “Dean of Black Hispanic Writers.” The Vanderbilt University Library acquired his papers in in 2008; they provide a unique window on the history and society of Colombia and on people of African descent in the Americas as a whole. We hope the collection will serve as an exceptional resource for researchers in Latin American and Afro-Hispanic Studies engaged in a variety of fields, including literature, cultural studies, history, folklore and anthropology."

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
Access to AI's more recent country and research reports beginning in 1961 and moving to the present.
Open Access.

Interface and content in English (and other languages).
HRW's reports from 1987 forward. Can search by country, year, keyword, and topic.
Open Access.

Includes key OECD publications such as: Financial Market Trends, Higher Education Management and Policy, Nuclear Law Bulletin, OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Economic Studies, OECD Economic Surveys, OECD Journal of Competition Law & Policy, and OECD Papers. Cover from 1990s onward.

ODS is the UN's Official Document System. You can search for UN documents by keywords, then narrow your search.