Zotero Guide

The Theological Dictionary of the New Testament (TDNT) Entries Following the SBL Handbook of Style

Here is an example. If you need to cite “χρόωος” from the Theological Dictionary of the New Testament (TDNT), you can follow these steps: 

Please click this link for a document view.

Footnote: 

1. First, check the table of contents to locate the article. The article for the word will be listed along with the author's last name in parentheses, indicating its placement on page X (e.g., χρόωος (Delling)). 
2. Next, refer to the list of contributors to find the full name of the article author, which in this case is Gerhard Delling, along with the name of the institution he was affiliated with. According to the SBL Handbook of Style, (See 6.3.7), the footnote format should be:

[full name of the article author], “[Greek word],” [Abbreviation of the dictionary in italic] [volume #]:[page range].

1. Gerhard Delling, “χρόωος,” TDNT 9:581-93.
2. Rudolf Bultmann, “εὐλαβής, εὐλαβἐομαι,” TDNT 2:751-54.
3. Heinrich Schlier, “ἐλεύθερος, ἐλευθερόω, ἐλευθερία, ἀπελύθερος,” TDNT 2:487-502.

Bibliography: 

According to the SBL Handbook of Style, the footnote format required does not need to include the article title or author. Instead, you only need to provide the bibliographic information for the bibliography as a whole.

The SBL Handbook of Style provides guidelines for formatting the publisher's location in the bibliography. The list of the publishers can be found on page 78 of the SBL Handbook of Style, (See 6.1.4.1). According to the rules, you should list only the city, not the state for Eerdmans (Grand Rapids).

Kittel, Gerhard, and Gerhard Friedrich, eds. Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. Translated by G. W. 
        Bromiley. 10 vols. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1964.