American Studies

American Politics

The primary goal of this guide is to help identify resources for studying various areas of American Studies.

Government Information

Nixon Leaving White House 1974

White House
Official website of the White House.
Supreme Court of the United States
Official website of the United States Supreme Court.
U.S. Senate
Official website of the United States Senate.
U.S. House of Representatives
Official website of the United States House of Representatives
Thomas: Library of Congress
THOMAS, a website of the Library of Congress, provides free access to federal legislative information including such areas as Bills, Resolutions, Activity in Congress, Congressional Record, Schedules, Calendars, Committee Information, Presidential Nominations, Treaties, Government Resources, Teacher Resources.
FedWorld
Managed by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), the FedWorld.gov web site is a valuable gateway to government information.
U.S. Census Bureau: The Official Statistics
The government site for Census information and publications.
Massachusetts Government
The Official Website of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
The Congressional Links Web Page
Provides links to many web pages with information on Congress.
United States Government Manual
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees.
Almanac of American Politics
Provides analysis and comprehensive profiles of every congressional district, state, governor and member of Congress.
LexisNexis State Capital
Access bills, laws, constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations; legislature membership, and newspapers of record for one state, any combination of states or all 50 states. Compare law and public policy developments. Monitor proposed and enacted state laws. Analyse national and regional trends.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hearings, published and unpublished from 1824 to the present, congressional committee reports, bills, public laws, selected committee prints, congressional documents, the Congressional Record from the 99th Congress forward, Federal Register from 1980 forward, the current Code of Federal Regulations, and the current US Code.

CQ Press Electronic Library
CQEL is an important reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.

Political Science Indexes & Databases

A particularly useful resource is the guide American Politics which points to many more useful resources.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Over 1400 titles are indexed. Much U.S. coverage.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from nearly 900 major political science journals. Covers theory, government, political process, international relations, and national and area studies.
Columbia International Affairs Online - CIAO This link opens in a new window
The U.S.'s diverse relations with other countries are well covered in this resource for theory and research in international affairs.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
An index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Much U.S. coverage,
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Provides annotated references to books, journal articles, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
The Left Index provides access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy.
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Providing full-text coverage of numerous news media, this database offers access to viewpoints and perspectives that are not always available in mainstream media coverage.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Offering access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
ProQuest Political Science This link opens in a new window
Gives users access to over 150 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection covers such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.

Other Important Indexes & Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Recent academic and popular journals in all subject areas.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (1908-present) This link opens in a new window
Articles from legal periodicals and citations from law books published since 1908. Includes law reviews, bar association journals, yearbooks, institutes, government publications, and indexing of court decisions.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to more than 2 million dissertations and masters theses in all fields produced in North American colleges and universities from 1861 to the present, and from around the world since 1988. The full text of dissertations published since 1997 is also available for download.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.

JSTOR
The JSTOR project is a digital archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in political science in other disciplines

Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Index Online is a database of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

American Studies

American Politics

Government Information

Political Science Indexes & Databases

Other Important Indexes & Databases