American Studies

Documents for the Study of American History.

Well categorized list of websites.

Contains 87,444 documents related to the study of the Presidency.

19th and 20th century primary resources from unique historical digital collections.

Yahoo! directory of American Studies websites.

Provides a comprehensive and integrated platform for pedagogical, scholarly, and institutional information aboutl American Studies.

Links to online resources on American Studies.

Guide to numerous American Studies resources.

Website for the PBS series about Asian Americans.

Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government

Provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

Provides a short chronology of events in American history and literature.

Presents over 9,000 images, with database information, that "illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States."

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Documentary films about American roots cultures streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.

The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.

The Historic Government Publications from World War II contains 343 Informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War.

Numerous hypertext projects.

A list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.

Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.

Numerous readings and full-text.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

An educational guide to the Great Depression of the 1930s.

"This site provides a space for the study of social movements in the US, including those movements as linked to transnational and global movements. Our emphasis is on recent and contemporary movements, but we also aim to provide materials on earlier movements."

A topically-organized website about the study of the American West.

Extensive well categorized bibliography -- much full-text.