American Studies

Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.

Indexes articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the United States in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish from more than 400 scholarly journals worldwide.

Readers’ Guide Retrospective provides comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers the years 1890 – 1982.

Coverage includes well over 600,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to the present.

American serials from 1740-1900.

Searchable images printed between 1760 and 1900.

Full texts of the diaries, letters, and memoirs of hundreds of people both famous and obscure.

From 1534 over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs, and accounts by over 1400 authors.

6,000 searchable text editions from among the 40,000 titles available.

Documents covering U.S. history and women in social movements in the U.S.

These are documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act, covering major domestic and international events since World War II, but geared toward international events.

Over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs, and accounts by over 1400 authors document the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850.

Search or browse letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives (most originating from 1920-1980).

Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America. Alongside 70,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, there are more than 30,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials.