American Studies

Newspapers

The primary goal of this guide is to help identify resources for studying various areas of American Studies.

Current Newspapers

Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of more than 150 newspapers, magazines, academic and scholarly journals of the alternative and independent press. Offers access to viewpoints and perspectives that are not always available in mainstream media coverage.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni includes thousands of U.S. and non-U.S. news sources; legal materials: case law, statutes and law reviews; and company/business information. Strength from 1990 to the present. Nexis Uni replaces Lexis-Nexis Academic.

Irish & Irish-American Papers at O'Neill Library
Lists Irish and Irish-American newspapers to which the O'Neill Library currently subscribes, with their respective web sites and availability via BC databases.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. ethnic and minority newspapers and other periodicals, many not in library print collections, from the late 1950s to the present. The full text of the article is available from the citation list produced by keyword searches. English and Spanish searching available.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers (i.e. the Wall Street Journal), magazines, journals, company and industry information. Many publications available from 1980 to the present. See the Factiva User Guide for tips on searching. Downloading of the content for analytics/text mining is against the terms of the agreement.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
Full text news (1995-2013) compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources translated into English, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Coverage is by region and includes: East Asia, Near East and South Asia, China, East Europe, West Europe, Latin America and Sub-Saharan Africa.

Irish & Irish-American Papers at O'Neill Library
Lists Irish and Irish-American newspapers to which the O'Neill Library currently subscribes, with their respective web sites and availability via BC databases.

Historical Online Indexes

Though we do not own direct fulltext access, these papers can be searched online and fulltext requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Arizona Republican
(1890-1922, 1999-present)
Baltimore Sun
(1837-1986, 1990-present)
Detroit Free Press
(1831-1922, 1999-present)
Hartford Courant
(1764-1986, 1992-present)
Indianapolis Star
(1903-1922, 1991-present)
Los Angeles Times
(1881-present)
Pittsburgh Courier
(1911-2002)

Historical Newspapers

View of Boston in 1848

See also the very useful guide Finding Newspapers which describes sources of current, contemporary, and historical newspapers available in print or electronically via the Boston College Libraries.

Library Catalog
Go to Advanced Search. Select Subject in the pull-down menu and enter the following in the corresponding search box:
BOSTON (MASS.)--NEWSPAPERS
Select the relevant date range, e.g. 1800-1860 in the Start Date and End Date boxes on the right.
This will bring up quite a number of both online and microform newspapers.

Early American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
American Historical Newspapers offer fully searchable, cover-to-cover reproductions of more than one million pages from more than 650 historical American newspapers. Numerous Boston newspapers are included.

Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
Boston Globe 1872-Current (Historical File + Current File)
Full text searchable by keyword, article type, date range, and author's name.
New York Times 1851-2009
Full text is searchable by keyword, article type, date range, and author's name.
Wall Street Journal (1889-1996)
Searchable full text images.
Washington Post 1877-1997
Full-page images, including advertisements, can be displayed by article or by page.
Christian Science Monitor 1908-1999
Searchable full text images.
Atlanta Constitution (Historical Newspapers)
Provides full coverage from 1868-1945, including scanned images of articles, ads, and other content. Includes full text searching (later editions are available from other sources: Search the Catalog for details).

Chicago Defender (Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The full text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of this very influential black newspaper.

Chicago Tribune 1849-1990
Full-text and full-image issues of this newspaper.
New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993
One of the nation's leading black newspapers.
NewspaperCat: Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers
This tool facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the US and the Caribbean. Search by keyword, newspaper title or by city, county or state to locate titles.
African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives)
Transcribed full text of several important 19th century African American newspapers.
American Periodicals Series
A selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many others.
Google News Newspaper Archive
100s of older newspapers digitized and/or indexed by Google through their News Archive Partner Program.

New York Tribune

11 April, 1909

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

American Studies

Newspapers

Current Newspapers

Historical Online Indexes

Historical Newspapers

New York Tribune