Provides abstracts and full text of articles from more than 400 art, architecture, film, photography, television, folk art, graphic design, pottery, sculpture, museum and other peer-reviewed periodicals published throughout the world.
This extensive and comprehensive database indexes and abstracts articles from over 4000 journals, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
Over 300,000 images plus descriptive information of art, architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, archeological and anthropological objects, and visual and material culture, as well as the software tools to organize, manipulate and present them.
Selected Galleries and Museums
John Singer Sargent in his studio with Portrait of Madame X, ca. 1885
Much more information about art, architecture and related subjects may be located in this Art History guide.
"The National Museum of American History is not an art museum. But works of art fill its collections and testify to the vital place of art in everyday American life. The ceramics collections hold hundreds of examples of American and European art glass and pottery. Fashion sketches, illustrations, and prints are part of the costume collections. . . ."
The Smithsonian’s National Portrait Gallery tells the history of America through individuals who have shaped its culture. Through the visual arts, performing arts and new media, the Portrait Gallery portrays poets and presidents, visionaries and villains, actors and activists whose lives tell the American story.