This guide describes sources of current, contemporary (recent past), and historical newspapers available in print or electronically via the Boston College Libraries and/or on the Web.
The O'Neill Library subscribes to a limited number of newspapers in print. Newspapers include current issues of the Boston Globe, Times of London, and The Wall Street Journal. These are located on Level 3.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic provides electronic access to hundreds of newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, most of them within one day of publication. Retrospective coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 1980s.
Factiva provides electronic access to hundreds of newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, most of them within one day of publication. Retrospective coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 1980s. Includes same day and archival coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
- Massachusetts Newsstand
This database from ProQuest provides electronic access to several daily Massachusetts newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980-).
PressDisplay provides online, same-day access to more than 300 newspapers from the U.S. and more than 50 other countries.
- World News Connection
World News Connection provides translations of selected news stories from international newspapers, wire services, and other sources, many of them on the day of publication. 1996-2013.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text of ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals in the United States. Includes articles in English and Spanish.
Full-text coverage of more than 150 newspapers, magazines, academic and scholarly journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Regional Business News
Search regional business newspapers since 1990.
- ProQuest Digital Microfilm
Provides online access to scanned microfilm images of current newspapers including the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and others. Images can be zoomed, cropped, rotated, printed, e-mailed, and saved. Papers can be browsed (but not searched) by publication title, date, and page.
- EMIS Emerging Markets Information Service
ISI Emerging Markets provides hard-to-get information on more than 80 emerging markets. It aggregates and produces full-text news articles, financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information, which are derived directly from more than 20,000 local and global publications.