Skip to main content

History Research

:

Finding Books & Articles

Scholarly resources in all areas of historical research at Boston College

Find Books at Boston College

BC Library Catalog


 Keyword     Keyword in Subject

Find & Request Books from BC and Beyond

WorldCat Catalog


Books Only   All Formats  

Books Not Available at BC

Members of the BC community can find and obtain books and other materials from beyond BC in several ways:

Core Journals

Core Article Databases

America: History & Life is the premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of United States and Canadian History, time period coverage from prehistory to the present. Publication coverage is 1910–present.

Historical Abstracts is the corollary index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), time period coverage from 1450 to the present. Publication coverage is 1955–present.

You may also search them simultaneously:

JSTOR is all full-text, and very good for retrospective research in history. But, it does not include all the current scholarship indexed in America: History & Life or Historical Abstracts.

Dissertations and Theses

History Librarian

Chelcie Rowell
Contact:
O'Neill Library 308
(617) 552-8125
Subjects:History

Spring 2017 Office Hours

Drop in during office hours from 10:00–noon in Stokes S394 (History Small Seminar Room) on the following dates:

  • WED, February 1
  • THURS, February 16
  • WED, March 1
  • WED, March 15
  • WED, March 29
  • WED, April 12
  • WED, April 26