International Studies

Getting Started

This guide showcases recommended resources for research, teaching and learning in International Studies.

Getting Started

This guide is not comprehensive, but is intended as a starting point for international studies research, highlighting some of the most useful resources available through the Libraries and on the web.

Background Information

Global Issues in Context: Resource from a global perspective on issues happening in the world today with introduction, background information, viewpoints, statistics, media and more.
International Studies Encyclopedia: Published with the International Studies Association, this resource is a comprehensive reference work for the fields of international studies and international relations.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: This tool helps researchers find reliable sources of information quickly by directing them to material selected by experts in the subject. It features a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by recommendations. Subjects covered include International Relations, International Law, Philosophy, and Political Science.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies: This continually updated, peer-reviewed encyclopedia was created in collaboration with the International Studies Association. Written by experts in the field, the essays offer thorough analytical examinations of International Studies topics.

Country Reports & Factbooks

CIA The World Factbook: Created by the Central Intelligence Agency for the use of US Government officials. Updated weekly.
CQ Political Handbook of the World: Political information on the world's countries and territories, including political systems, political parties and international organizations.
Freedom House Reports: Rating of people's access to political rights and civil liberties in 210 countries and territories, includes global freedom scores, internet freedom scores and democracy scores.
Global Edge: Business focused database providing reports by country and territory.
UN Human Development Reports: Human development indicators by country

EIU Viewpoint - Country Analysis Advanced (25 countries) This link opens in a new window
Understand a country’s political, policy and economic outlook with the world’s best forward-looking analysis and data. Unparalleled coverage—global, regional and country-level
analysis for over 200 markets. 20,000 data series every month, led by our worldwide network of expert analysts and on the ground contributors. Countries include:
Albania, Brazil, China, Cyprus, Egypt, Greece, India, Iran, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Myanmar, Nigeria, North Korea, Palestine, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Syria, Tanzania, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates

Librarian

Sophie Leveque

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

O'Neill Library
Room 309

Subjects: Economics, International Studies, Political Science & Government

Course Guides

Korean Studies-Prof. Hwang

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

International Studies

Getting Started

Getting Started

Background Information

Country Reports & Factbooks

Librarian

Course Guides

Additional Research Guides