International Studies

Political Economy and Development Studies

This guide showcases recommended resources for research, teaching and learning in International Studies.

A Note on Economics Data

Please note we have Economics Research Guides, as well as Business Research Guides that will provide very robust recommendations. There are also Data Research Guides.

Here are a few resources that include international data to get you started:

Bureau of Economic Analysis. BEA: Interactive data tables for national economic data, industry economic data, international economic data and regional economic data. Important note: Use option button to select historical data.
GDP-Bureau of Economic Analysis: Including International Trade and Investment Country Facts
ILOSTAT: Yearly data of Total and Economically active population, Employment, Unemployment, Hours of Work, Wages, Labour Cost, Consumer Price Indices, Occupational Injuries, Strikes and Lockouts: 1969-2005.
International Accounts Data (Bureau of Economic Analysis): Summary data on foreign investment in U.S. and U.S. investment abroad. Tables by country or by industrial sector. Frequency varies; quarterly or annual.
International Trade Guide

S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Company (public and private) and industry information including extensive financial data, S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports and more. Covers most recent 5 years.
EIU Viewpoint - Country Analysis Advanced (25 countries) This link opens in a new window
Understand a country’s political, policy and economic outlook with the world’s best forward-looking analysis and data. Unparalleled coverage—global, regional and country-level
analysis for over 200 markets. 20,000 data series every month, led by our worldwide network of expert analysts and on the ground contributors. Countries include:
Albania, Brazil, China, Cyprus, Egypt, Greece, India, Iran, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Myanmar, Nigeria, North Korea, Palestine, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Syria, Tanzania, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates

Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from scholarly journals and business periodicals, also company, industry, market research reports, and cases.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit, from the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni includes thousands of U.S. and non-U.S. news sources; legal materials: case law, statutes and law reviews; and company/business information. Strength from 1990 to the present. Nexis Uni replaces Lexis-Nexis Academic.
GuideStar Premium This link opens in a new window
Guidestar provides access to information on non-profits. Includes financial data such as income and assets, access to IRS Form 990, organizational statistics, and a summary of organizational goals and activities. Includes lists of board members and executives.

More Resources

Annual Review of Economics: Covers significant developments in the field of economics, including macroeconomics and economic development.
Definitions of Main Economics Indicators: From OECD
Economic Report of the President: 70+ agencies in the United States Federal Government produce public statistics. Annual historical statistical tables of government data from 1995 for national income or expenditure, population, employment, wages, and productivity, production and business activity. Spreadsheet format option. Link to FRASER with data back to first report 1947.
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary: IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.

MarketResearch.com This link opens in a new window
Includes reports from several market research firms covering service industries, consumer goods, demographics, food and beverage, heavy industry, life science, public sector and technology and media.
For academic use only.
Nexis Dossier This link opens in a new window
Provides corporate hierarchies for over 2 million of the most prominent public and private parent companies and their affiliates, subsidiaries and divisions worldwide. Note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Includes key OECD publications such as: Financial Market Trends, Higher Education Management and Policy, Nuclear Law Bulletin, OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Economic Studies, OECD Economic Surveys, OECD Journal of Competition Law & Policy, and OECD Papers. Also includes books by theme, containing monographs and annual reports.
World DataBank Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
World Bank databases covering specialized world indicator topics such as social indicators, economic indicators, environmental indicators, state, market indicators, and international indicators along with statistics on the external debt of developing countries derived from loan-by-loan records. World Development Indicators coverage from 1960 for 228 countries and 18 groups of countries. Global Development Finance from 1970 for 128 countries.

PRIMARY SOURCES

Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Digitized Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, drawn from the University of London and Harvard's Baker Library. Offers primary sources focused on "the dynamics of Western trade and wealth that shaped the world from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century." Part II includes a supplement that extends coverage to 1914.

Working Papers

Reminder: Scholars may produce a working paper as a precursor to publishing a scholarly journal article

Conference Board: Business Management and Economic Research and Insights: Includes current Economics Watch Report, forecasts including consumer spending and employment trends, corporate governance and executive compensation.
CEPR Discussion Papers (Centre for Economic Policy Research): Current discussion papers from the Centre for Policy Research. May be searched by paper number or general subject areas: International Macroeconomics, International Trade, Public Policy, Labour Economics, Industrial Organization, Transition Economics, Applied Macroeconomics, Human Resources.
International Monetary Fund: Free working papers full text with a searchable index. Many also indexed in EconLit.
Journal of Applied Econometrics: Contains data for all papers accepted after January, 1994 (unless the data are confidential).
NBER Working Papers: Current research of leading economists. Some working papers also available in print collection HB1.A2N37
The OECD iLibrary: Also has full text working papers and other publications from OECD.
Search RePEc(Research Papers in Economics) database.

Statistics

Census Academy: Learn how to use the USA Census
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets: Datasets from both U.S. and international agencies both government and commercial.
OECD.Stat: Includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies

ProQuest Statistical Insight Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Index to local, national and international intergovernmental statistical publications from 1983 to the present. Includes citation information with large number of pdf or spreadsheet downloads available.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and more.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

International Studies

Political Economy and Development Studies

A Note on Economics Data

Databases

More Resources

PRIMARY SOURCES

Working Papers

Statistics