International Studies

Global Cultures

This guide showcases recommended resources for research, teaching and learning in International Studies.

BBC Country Reports: Provide a guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
CIA The World Factbook: Created by the Central Intelligence Agency for the use of US Government officials. Updated weekly.
Global Edge: Business focused database providing reports by country and territory.

Please see the History Research Guides for more specific primary source information.

European Election Database: Covers parliamentary and presidential elections in 35 countries, as well as European Parliament elections and EU-related referendums. 1990-present
EuroDocs: Historical documents from European countries.

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized manuscript and print documents on colonial history, politics, culture.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new window
1941-1996. Transcribed and translated foreign broadcasts and news. The original mission was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Now offers the opportunity for students to expand their research into primary sources that originated in languages they do not have.
Revolution and Protest Online This link opens in a new window
Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. This growing collection offers video, images, documents, reports and select books.

Afrobarometer – Africa Public Opinion Research: Independent, pan-African research institution which provides national public attitude survey data and statistics on democracy, governance, and society.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Over 250 of these well-known, used and trusted volumes published since the 1960s are available online; covers 14 subject areas, including General History, Regional History, Literary Studies, Philosophy, and Religious Studies.
EIU Viewpoint - Country Analysis Advanced (25 countries) This link opens in a new window
Understand a country’s political, policy and economic outlook with the world’s best forward-looking analysis and data. Unparalleled coverage—global, regional and country-level
analysis for over 200 markets. 20,000 data series every month, led by our worldwide network of expert analysts and on the ground contributors. Countries include:
Albania, Brazil, China, Cyprus, Egypt, Greece, India, Iran, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Myanmar, Nigeria, North Korea, Palestine, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Syria, Tanzania, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates
International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistical data from around the world (Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Oceania) covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. This resource updates the latest print edition (2007) of International Historical Statistics. It includes 260 years of data, collected between 1750-2010, and offers the ability to compare by year or geographic region and to download data as an ePDF or Excel file.