History Portal

View and download out-of-copyright books, but also search and view snippets of full text, even for those in copyright.

Digital versions of key 15th through 17th century printed texts.

Full text of significant English and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Digitized early American monograph, pamphlet, and broadside collection. Includes American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 & Library Company of Philadelphia Series I Supplement; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 & Library Company of Philadelphia Series II Supplement.

Digitized Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, drawn from the University of London and Harvard's Baker Library. Offers primary sources focused on "the dynamics of Western trade and wealth that shaped the world from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century." Part II includes a supplement that extends coverage to 1914.

Focused on 15 significant commodities: Chocolate, Coffee, Cotton, Fur, Oil, Opium, Porcelain, Silver & Gold, Spices, Sugar, Tea, Timber, Tobacco, Wheat, and Wine & Spirits. Each commodity is documented through manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, and rare books, allowing students to explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed.

Includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more from the "long nineteenth century".

Electronic versions of many classic humanities texts.

Online version of the primary source British history documents multi-volume series. Over 5,500 documents from 500-1914 including American Colonial Documents.

Full text of numerous medieval history documents, including over three thousand pages of medieval sources translated and edited by leading medievalists.

Digitized and transcribed family letter collections: the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, and Armburgh Papers.

Digitized manuscripts dating from the 13th through the 16th centuries. Focus on accounts of journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including Mongolia, Persia, India, and China.

Begun in 1819, the Monumenta Germaniae Historica is one of the most important resources of medieval historical texts. Covering the widest possible range of historical documents, divided into five major Series (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae and Antiquitates), the Monumenta offers a wealth of critical editions.

An interactive workspace designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.

Manuscripts written or compiled by 16th and 17th century women in the UK.

Sixty volume digital library of translated historical sources, spanning 300-800AD. Geographic range covering Syria, Arabia, Armenia, Georgia, Egypt, major cities of the Roman Empire, Spain, Gaul, Italy, Britain, and Ireland.