This is the "Find Books & Articles" page of the "History Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

History Research  

Scholarly resources in all areas of historical research at Boston College
Last Updated: May 23, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/history Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Find Books & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find Books at Boston College

Holmes Library Catalog:

Keyword   Keyword in Subject
 

Find & Request Books from BC and Beyond

WorldCat Library Catalog:

Books Only   All Formats

Books Not Available at BC

Members of the BC community can find and obtain books and other materials from beyond the walls of the BC Libraries in several ways:
  • WorldCat
    Find and request material at BC, Boston Library Consortium, Center for Research Libraries, Google Books, and WorldCat (libraries worldwide) from one interface.
  • Boston Library Consortium (onsite access)
    Members of the BC community have onsite access and borrowing privileges at the 17 members of this library association. Request a BLC borrower card from the Circulation Desk.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    You can also complete an ILL form, if you prefer, to have books, media, and articles sent to BC from other libraries.

Dissertations and Theses

Core Article Databases

America: History & Life is the premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of United States and Canadian History, from prehistory to the present. Coverage is 1910 - present.

Historical Abstracts is the corollary index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), from 1450 to the present. Coverage is 1955 - present.

You may also search them simultaneously:

JSTOR is all full-text, and very good for retrospective research in history. But, it does not include all the current scholarship indexed in America: History & Life or Historical Abstracts.

Additional Article Databases

  • Bibliography of Asian Studies  Icon
    Indexes articles on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide since 1971.
  • Bibliography of British and Irish History  Icon
    Provides bibliographic data on historical writing that deals with the British Isles, the British Empire and Commonwealth, the Republic of Ireland, and the Irish in America.
  • Feminae
    Provides abstracts to journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality, and gender in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. Covers materials published since 1990.
  • FRANCIS  Icon
    Indexes over 4,200 journals in the humanities and social sciences published in European languages.
  • Hispanic American Periodicals Index  Icon
    Indexes articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the United States in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
  • Index Islamicus  Icon
    An international bibliography of publications covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature going back to 1906.
  • International Medieval Bibliography  Icon
    A bibliography of all aspects of the European Middle Ages including theology and philosophy. Coverage from 1967-present.
  • Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance  Icon
    Bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
  • Left Index  Icon
    Provides access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy.
  • Periodicals Index Online  Icon
    A database of millions of articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
  • Project MUSE  Icon
    Full-text collection of over 460 scholarly journals from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses. Earlier years may be in JSTOR.
  • Women's Studies International  Icon
    Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
 

New Databases & Resources

Center for Research Libraries
The Libraries have joined the CRL, providing quick access to a plethora of new historical holdings. Large amounts of microfilm and other material can quickly be sent for long periods of time, including many historical foreign newspapers, dissertations, and much more. Search directly or search and request material via WorldCat.

ScanPro 2000
We have purchased and installed several new microfilm reader/scanners with improved software and new features in support of our new CRL access, as well as the wealth of microfilm material in the BC Libraries collections. Currently available on O'Neill Level 3. Please contact me with any questions.

OpinionArchives
The Libraries now have full-run, full-text access to some of the most important American opinion periodicals, including: CommonwealHarpers, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Yorker, and more. All are cross-searchable.

March of Time
A streaming video collection of the 1935-1967 newsreel series is now available via a BC Libraries subscription. Includes transcriptions and the ability to create and export clips.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip