Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

Student Employment

:

Burns Library

Information regarding the student hiring process, job descriptions, application information and supervisor contact information.

Burns Library Application and Hiring Process

Burns Library is currently accepting applications for the Fall semester.

Irish Studies Collections Assistant is currently hiring. Assists Burns Librarian and Irish Studies subject librarian with developing and promoting BC Libraries Irish Studies collections, including rare book and manuscript collections in Burns Library and physical and electronic resources managed by O'Neill Library. Conducts detailed bibliographic, biographical, and historical research; helps evaluate purchase and donation offers; assists with updating of discovery platforms and research guides; assists with the preparation of blog posts and other collections-related communications; assists with data analyses and visualizations; supports Irish Studies outreach, instruction, and events organized by the BC Libraries. Preference is given to graduate students in Irish Studies. Previous library or archives experience desirable. Flexible schedule averaging 6-8 hours per week, some onsite, some remote. For questions or to apply, please contact Christian Dupont (christian.dupont@bc.edu) by 9/23.

Please see further below for additional details and staff contacts should you have questions.

If you are selected for an interview, you will be contacted by a library staff member. Please note that due to the volume of applications, we are unable to respond to all applicants. 

Hiring and training normally occur at the beginning of the fall and spring semesters, and late in the spring semester for summer openings. Announcements of openings are shared with various academic departments for circulation to their students and are also posted to this website. If you have any general questions about Burns Library and the application process, please contact Burns Library Multimedia & Administrative Specialist Kate Edrington (kate.edrington@bc.edu). For questions about specific job openings, please refer to the contact list below.

Learn more about the Burns Library.

Job Descriptions and Requirements

Irish Studies Collections Assistant 

Assists Burns Librarian and Irish Studies subject librarian with developing and promoting BC Libraries Irish Studies collections, including rare book and manuscript collections in Burns Library and physical and electronic resources managed by O'Neill Library. Conducts detailed bibliographic, biographical and historical research; helps evaluate purchase and donation offers; assists with updating of discovery platforms and research guides; assists with the preparation of blog posts and other collections-related communications; assists with data analyses and visualizations; supports Irish Studies outreach, instruction and events organized by the BC Libraries. Preference given to graduate students in Irish Studies. Previous library or archives experience desirable. Flexible schedule averaging 6-8 hours per week, some onsite, some remote.

 

Special Collections Assistant (Public Services)

Greets patrons who approach the service desk; checks library materials out to users and processes returns; answers general informational questions about the library both in-person and over the phone; shelves; supports outreach efforts, and works on other library projects as needed. Works with rare, unique and fragile materials in a high-security environment. Preference given to applicants who can commit to at least 2 hour shifts when the Reading Room is open to researchers. Good customer service skills and attention to detail required.

 

Special Collections Assistant (Archives)

Significant responsibility and skill are required. Assistants directly handle rare and valuable materials in a high security environment. Expected to work with minimal supervision. Conducts detailed bibliographic, biographical and historical research; digitizes special collections and archival materials; shelves, arranges, moves, and maintains special collections and archival materials; performs classification, cataloging, inventorying, organization, and indexing of special collections and manuscript collections; participates in mounting exhibitions and assists with conservation activities.

 

Special Collections Maintenance/Preservation Assistant (Technical Services)

Responsibilities may include: assisting with labelling of rare materials; limited research and searching regarding catalog maintenance projects; shelving of published materials; preparing and creating preservation housings; updating, creating and reviewing files/records; assisting with exhibition preparation.

Contact

For more information about the Irish Studies Collections Assistant position, contact Christian Dupont (christian.dupont@bc.edu)

For more information about the Special Collections Assistant (Public Services) position, contact Andrew Isidoro (andrew.isidoro@bc.edu)

For more information about the Special Collections Assistant (Archives) position, contact Lynn Moulton (lynn.moulton@bc.edu)

For more information about the Special Collections Maintenance/Preservation Assistant (Technical Services) position, contact Will Allmendinger (william.allmendinger@bc.edu)