We offer a variety of student jobs that build skills, support your academics, and connect you to the BC community.
For information on all Student Employment at BC, see the Office of Student Services' Employment page
Below are examples of common student roles and responsibilities in the libraries. Specific duties and opportunities may vary by library and current needs, and are not limited to what is listed.
Service Desks: Assisting patrons with checkouts, general questions, printing, and other related tasks.
Collection Maintenance and Processing: Sorting and shelving library materials, processing incoming and outgoing items, and updating associated records and databases.
Special Projects: Opportunities arise to support ongoing initiatives such as digitizing library materials, assisting with special collections, book preservation, and more. The specialized nature of these projects may require advanced skills or experience.
While we hire on an as-needed basis year-round, most hiring takes place during the peak periods listed below.
Jobs are typically posted a month in advance from what's listed below, on the Office of Student Services' Job Listings page.
Fall: August - September
Spring: December - February
Summer: April - May
Library jobs are posted on the Student Employment Job Listings page as soon as any positions open up.
Each job listing includes details on responsibilities, pay, and the steps on how to apply.
Please see check the Work Locations section below for contact information.
The O'Neill Library, located on the Chestnut Hill Campus, is the main research library and offers employment opportunities for both general and specialized library experience.
To apply for any open positions, posted on the Student Services' Employment page, please refer to the job posting's description section for specific application instructions.
***NOTE: Bapst and O'Neill Libraries utilize Google Forms for applications, each position has its own unique form.
If you're interested in multiple positions, be sure to submit a separate application for each one!
| Department | Contact | |
|---|---|---|
| Access Services | ||
| Circulation & Collection Maintenance | Eric Surat | |
| Interlibrary Loan (ILL) | Kevin Saffo | |
| Off-Site Collections Delivery | Ekaterina Vorobeva-Sears | |
| Administrative Office | Christian SooHoo | |
| Catholic Content Initiatives (CCI) | Seth Meehan | |
| Digitization Lab | Chloe Jones | |
| Digitization Studio | Ashlyn Stewart | |
| Metadata | Roderick Williams | |
| Resource Acquisition & Management (RAM) | Acquisitions | Hilary Croteau |
| Cataloging | Takumi Ohata | |
| Reference Desk | Leea Stroia | |
The Bapst Library, located on the Chestnut Hill Campus, serves the specialized resources needs of the Morrissey College of Art and Science's Art, Art History, and Film Department.
To apply for any open positions, posted on the Student Services' Employment page, please refer to the job posting's description section for specific application instructions.
***NOTE: Bapst and O'Neill Libraries utilize Google Forms for applications, each position has its own unique form.
If you're interested in multiple positions, be sure to submit a separate application for each one!
| Department | Contact |
|---|---|
| Bapst Library Operations | Eric Surat |
The Burns Library, located on the Chestnut Hill Campus, offers unique employment opportunities to engage directly with Boston College’s rare books, manuscripts, and archival collections in a high-security, research-focused environment.
To apply for any open positions, posted on the Student Services' Employment page, please refer to the job posting's description section for specific application instructions.
The application process for open positions are all done via email. Each department at Burns manages their own hiring, if there are multiple positions opened, please be sure to email each respective hiring manager individually!
| Department | Contact | |
|---|---|---|
| Special Collections | ||
| Archives | Lynn Moulton | |
| Public Services | Andrew Isidoro | |
The Educational Resource Center (ERC), located in Campion Hall on the Chestnut Hill Campus, serves the specialized resource needs of the Lynch School of Education and Human Development.
To apply for any open positions, posted on the Student Services' Employment page, please refer to the job posting's description section for specific application instructions.
| Department | Contact |
|---|---|
| ERC Day Operations | Aidan Olsen |
| ERC Evening Operations | Jocelyn Figlock |
The Law Library, located on the Newton Campus, serves as the specialized resourced needs of the Boston College Law School community.
To apply for any open positions, posted on the Student Services' Employment page, please refer to the job posting's description section for specific application instructions.
| Department | Contact |
|---|---|
| Law Library Operations | Lily Dyer |
The Social Work Library (SWL) located in the McGuinn Building on the Chestnut Hill Campus, serves the specialized resource needs of Boston College's School of Social Work.
To apply for any open positions, posted on the Student Services' Employment page, please refer to the job posting's description section for specific application instructions.
| Department | Contact |
|---|---|
| SWL Day Operations | Emmanuel Sosa Alvarado |
| SWL Evening Operations | Matthew Walleser |
The Theology & Ministry Library (TML), located on the Brighton Campus, supports the academic and research needs of Clough School of Theology & Ministry community.
The TML prioritizes hiring theology and ministry graduate students who are familiar with the curriculum and theological subject matter, to provide the best assistance to patrons and meet the library’s unique needs.
To apply for any open positions, posted on the Student Services' Employment page, please refer to the job posting's description section for specific application instructions.
| Department | Contact |
|---|---|
| TML Day Operations | Jonathan Hoffman |
| TML Evening Operations | Yoshio Shartin |
Job openings are posted on the Student Employment Job Listings page, with application steps listed the job descriptions.
Applicants who request to keep their application on file will be retained until the end of the current Summer Employment Period.
We reset our applicant pool at the start of the new academic year (Fall semester). All future job opportunities posted in the Fall and onward, will require new application submissions.
No, all BC students are welcome to apply. Qualified applicants will be considered, priority is given to Work Study, Montserrat and Messina students when possible.
Totals vary depending on employment period, as outlined below. These totals are across all jobs held on-campus, not per.
| Employment Period | Student Status | Hour Limits |
|---|---|---|
| Academic Year (Fall and Spring Semesters) |
Domestic Students | Undergraduates: up to 20 hours per week Graduates: up to 29 hours per week |
| International Students (F-1 and J-1 Visas) |
20 hours per week while school is in session | |
| Semester Breaks and Spring Break | All Students | Up to 29 hours per week |
| Summer | All Students |
Either a) Up to 40 hours per week, for a maximum of 12 weeks or b) If working more than 12 weeks, must average no more than 29 hours |
It could be due to:
Incorrect direct deposit info: Contact the HR Services Center (HRSC) by phone or email.
If the information you submitted was invalid, your paycheck(s) may have been issued as a physical check, held at the HRSC located on the Brighton Campus.
Bank-related issue: Reach out directly to your bank for assistance.
Yes. Before being hired all international students must complete an I-9 Form, and submit it with accompanying documentation to Student Services.
You will also need to provide:
For more information on Student Employment at BC, see the Office of Student Services' Employment page
Have more questions? Email bclstudentemployment@bc.edu
