Skip to Main Content
Chat With Us

Student Employment

:

Bapst & O'Neill Library

Information regarding the student hiring process, job descriptions, application information and supervisor contact information.

The student employment form for Oneill, Bapst, and Burns libraries will open a few weeks ahead of each semester. When the form opens up, it can be found on the student employment page. Employment opportunities can be very limited in the Spring of each year since many students hired in the Fall are extended an opportunity to continue employment in the Spring.

All hiring supervisors will have access to your application and will reach out to select students for interviews. Please note that due to the volume of applications, supervisors are unable to respond to all applicants. Once all vacancies have been filled, the application link will close. All applications will remain on file for that semester, so should a position re-open you may still have the opportunity to be selected.
 
We encourage students to update their availability if it changes. 
 
Visit these websites to learn more about the O'Neill Libraries https://libguides.bc.edu/oneill/ and Bapst https://libguides.bc.edu/bapst. 
 

Job Descriptions and Requirements

Access Services - Bapst and  O'Neill Library 

Collection Maintenance

Contributes to collection maintenance activities designed to maintain the general order and presentability of the physical collections. Work activities include assisting patrons, shelving, shelf-reading, and re-apportioning, along with other specialized projects. Collection Maintenance staff also play a role in fulfilling requests submitted by faculty, students, and staff.

Minimum/maximum hours: 8-20 hours per week

Staffing hours: 8 am-6 pm

 

Courier

The courier assists in transporting library material among the three campuses: Chestnut Hill Campus, Brighton Campus, and Newton Campus via our BC library van. While on the route, the courier collects and drops off book returns, patron requests, and other miscellaneous items at the marked drop-off/pick-up points at O’Neill Library, Theology and Ministry Library, and Law Library, and also prepares patron requests from an offsite collection on Newton campus. Excellent customer service and time management skills are required. Knowledge of the Library of Congress Classification System is a plus, but not required. Successful applicants are required to complete an online driving certification.

Requirements:

  • Must have a valid U.S. driver’s license
  • Age requirement: Must be 21 or older
  • Able to carry ~50-70lbs

​​Minimum/maximum hours: 6-10 hours per week

Staffing hours: 2 hours per day, Monday-Friday. 

 

Circulation Service Desks

Assists patrons with a variety of needs, including but not limited to, answering informational questions about the libraries in-person and over the phone, loaning out library materials, processing returns, creating guest accounts, placing item requests, logging transactions and helping patrons locate items in the stacks. Students interested in this position should have good interpersonal skills. Excellent customer service and time management skills are required. Knowledge of the Library of Congress Classification System is a plus, but not required. May open and close the library in the absence of full-time staff. Staff working at the Bapst Library may also be required to complete collection maintenance duties. 

Minimum/maximum hours: 8-20 hours per week

Staffing hours: Vary, although the library is open 24 hours for most of the school year.

 

Overnight

O’Neill Library is open 24 hours for the majority of the school year. In addition to the duties listed for the Circulation Service Desk position, employees hired for this role are expected to retrieve patron requests, fulfill interlibrary loan requests, transport returns to the sorting areas in preparation for the next working day, and maintain/troubleshoot public technology. Employees will work alongside two full-time library staff members and a security guard. Excellent customer service and time management skills are required. Knowledge of the Library of Congress Classification System is a plus, but not required.

Minimum/maximum hours: 8-20 hours per week

Staffing hours: 11 pm to 3 am and 3 am to 8 am

Age requirement: Applicants must be 18 or older.

 

Reference Desk

Reference Student Assistant

Maintains the reference service and reference collection areas, including the Reference Desk area, the research consultation area, and the reference stacks. Responsibilities include re-shelving reference books; keeping logs of reference materials used; re-stocking supplies; up-keep of the service area; shelf reading; and tasks supporting collection maintenance. Works on special projects as needed. Good communication and interpersonal skills are required.

Digital Studio

Digital Studio Assistant

Assists and troubleshoots a wide variety of software, hardware, and printing problems for Digital Studio users. Diagnoses network or application problems with Digital Studio workstations, printers, and scanners; reports problems to supervisor or calls the BC Help Center if unable to resolve; monitors all technology equipment for any problems on a daily basis; maintains printers by refilling paper and toner, fixing paper jams. Checks workstations for software updates at the end of each semester and documents the version changes. Takes initiative to learn new software and develop expertise in order to contribute to the Digital Scholarship tutorial series on a semester basis. Participates in workshops and demonstrations hosted in the Digital Studio. Requires minimal supervision when performing these tasks.

Preferred candidates will have experience with some of the software offerings in the Digital Studio, or an eagerness to learn. Good customer service skills are required.

Minimum/maximum hours: 6-10 hours per week.

Staffing hours: 9 am to 7 pm, Monday-Friday. 

 

Digital Scholarship Assistant

Graduate student provides assistance with duties associated with digital history projects and guides for faculty and student use. Experience with different digital humanities tools and data management is necessary. Examples of tools can include ArcGIS online; leaflet; Excel; omeka s.

Hours: up to 10 hours per week

Age requirement: Graduate level

Digitization Lab

Digitization Lab Student Assistant

This position consists mostly of postprocessing files (deskewing scans of pages, cropping, etc.), scanning printed materials for online access, and very careful proofing of our work for errors. Other tasks sometimes arise. As some original materials are antique, fragile, and require gentle handling, there is no eating or drinking in the Lab. This position requires diligence, careful attention to detail, and some familiarity with Mac- and PC-based software. Skills with Photoshop, spreadsheets and MS Word preferred.

Resource Acquisition and Management

RAM Monographs Acquisitions Assistant

Opens shipments of books and checks them into the library system which includes basic bibliographic searching.  After checking in, sort and send them to the designated locations. Handles invoices including sending copies to the Accounts Payable department and filing the originals.  Other special projects as assigned.

 

RAM Serials Receiving Operator

Sorts incoming serials and other mail for the continuing resources at the mail room, checks into the library system which includes basic bibliographic searching, and reports missing issues to the supervisor for a claim. After checking in, performs physical processing including applying call number labels and inserting anti-theft strips, and stamping newspapers  Other special projects as assigned such as updating title labels on the current periodicals shelves and performing serial inventory.

 

RAM Binding Operator

Handles shipping preparation and receiving the bound journals, including updating library records with ANSI holdings in Alma and reporting missing issues to the supervisor for claiming. In addition, updates information and prepares the shipment report in the ABLE system, Some physical processing are including creating bound units, packing and unpacking them from the boxes, checking returned volumes for any damages as well other irregularities reporting to the supervisor. Also performs serial inventory.

 

Mailroom/Loading Dock

Mailroom/Loading Dock Assistant

Receive, process, and sort incoming mail to the O'Neill from Campus Mail, FedX, UPS, and other vendors on a daily basis. Picks up interoffice mail and campus mail from O'Neill offices. Hand delivers mail to Lake St and other office buildings throughout the campus as needed.  Delivers requested supplies to staff. Maintains supply inventory and communicates with the administrative offices when stock is low.  Properly stocks or store incoming supplies in the supply room or delivers incoming items to the requesting staff.  Cleans when necessary; arranges recycling materials/broken furniture for pick up by facilities staff. 

 

Contact

Access Services

Contact Access Services Supervisors

circsupervisors-ggroup@bc.edu

 

Reference Desk

Lopa Williams, Senior Reference & Tech Support Specialist

lopa.williams@bc.edu

 

Digital Studio

Melanie Hubbard - Head of Digital Scholarship & Data Services

melanie.hubbard@bc.edu

Bee Lehman- Digital Humanities Program Librarian

lehmanbr@bc.edu 

 

Digitization Lab

Naomi Rubin, Digital Imaging Assistant

naomi.rubin@bc.edu

 

Resource Acquisition and Management

Takumi Ohata, Resource Acquisitions Assistant

takumi.ohata@bc.edu

 

Administrative Offices

Shatoya White-Gay, Fiscal and Administrative Specialist

bclstudentemployment@bc.edu