Medieval and Premodern History

Resource for all key aspects of European history, society, religion, and culture from circa 500 CE to circa 1500 CE.

This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.

Includes biographical dictionaries of scholars from the ancient world and middle ages.

Interface and content in Italian.
"Con i suoi oltre trentamila profili, tutti pubblicati in rete, traccia una biografia collettiva degli italiani che hanno contribuito alla storia artistica e politica, scientifica, religiosa, letteraria ed economica dalla caduta dell’impero romano d’occidente ad oggi. Concepito nel 1925, ha iniziato le pubblicazioni nel 1961 e senza interruzioni è giunto al volume 99° sui cento previsti. È oggi diretto da Raffaele Romanelli e da un comitato composto da Lorenzo Bianconi, Francesco Caglioti, Michele Ciliberto, Alberto Melloni, Pietro Corsi, Amedeo Quondam, Gian Maria Varanini, Maria Antonietta Visceglia."

Featuring entries composed by leading international scholars,The Encyclopedia of English Renaissance Literature presentscomprehensive coverage of all aspects of English literatureproduced from the early 16th to the mid 17th centuries.

Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World and reflects the great diversity of current scholarship. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.

The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online (EJIW) is the first cohesive and discreet reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online is updated with newly commissioned articles, illustrations, multimedia, and primary source material.

A unique work that brings together hundreds of articles offering the latest research from across the range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of medieval dress and textiles.

Research on medieval philosophy has advanced greatly in the last thirty years, but there until now there had not been a comprehensive encyclopedia summarizing the current research available.

The Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage is an interdisciplinary reference work, giving wide coverage of the role of travel in medieval religious life. Dealing with the period 300-1500 A.D., it offers both basic data on as broad a range of European pilgrimage as possible and clearly written, self-contained introductions to the general questions of pilgrimage research.

A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.

The four-volume Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World provides readers with comprehensive coverage of the medieval world, from the fall of Rome to the European Renaissance, including Western and non-Western cultures and civilization.