Skip to Main Content

Find
- Find More
Services
- More Library Services

Get Help
- Ask A Librarian
  
  Chat With Us
  
  Chat with us
  
  Chat with us
  
  Chat with us
  
  Ask a question 24/7 and a librarian from BC or another institution will help you.
  
  Email Us
  
  Email us
  
  Send us a question and we'll get back to you within a day.
  
  Meet With Us
  
  Meet with us
  
  Request an appointment in person or online with a subject librarian.
  
  Visit Us
  
  Visit us
  
  Visit our library locations.
  All Help
About
- Libraries
  
  O'Neill Library
  
  O'Neill Library
  Main library
  
  Reference: 617-552-4472
  
  Bapst Library
  
  Bapst Library
  Art and architecture
  
  Reference: 617-552-3200
  
  Burns Library
  
  Burns Library
  Special collections
  
  Reference: 617-552-4861
  
  Educational Resource Center
  
  Educational Resource Center
  Curriculum collection
  
  Reference: 617-552-4920
  
  Law Library
  
  Law Library
  Legal research & scholarship
  
  Reference: 617-552-4434
  
  Social Work Library
  
  Social Work Library
  Social services collection
  
  Reference: 617-552-0109
  
  Theology & Ministry Library
  
  Theology & Ministry Library
  Theology & biblical studies
  
  Reference: 617-552-6553
  
  O'Connor Library
  
  O'Connor Library
  Earth & environmental sciences
  
  Contact Elizabeth Kuhlman
  
  Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies
  
  Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies
  Jesuit studies collection
  
  Reference: 617-552-2568
  - About us
  - Hours
  - Contact Us
  - Getting Here
  - Policies
  - Gifts
  - Mission
  - Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
  - Employment
  - Advertise Your Event
  - Virtual Tours
  More About the Libraries

Library hours for

Today's Library Hours
Library	Hours
O'Neill Library
Bapst Library
Burns Library
Educational Resource Center
Law Library
Social Work Library
Theology & Ministry Library

(*) The O'Neill Library first floor will remain open for use until 2:00 am.

How crowded is O'Neill right now?

My Accounts
- - Library catalog account
    
    Renew books; check due dates; save records
  - Interlibrary Loan account
    
    Request books, articles, and more from other libraries; review due dates
  - Burns Library account
    
    Register to research, schedule visits, and order copies at Burns Library
  - OverDrive account
    
    Borrow and renew popular ebooks and audiobooks
  More about Accounts

Medieval and Premodern History

:

Manuscripts: Animals and Nature

This is a short guide to Medieval history focusing on scholarly research and digital primary source collections.

Page under Construction

This page is currently under construction and far from complete. If you notice broken links or have suggestions, please write the subject liaison e-mail.

Digital Projects

Aberdeen Bestiary Project
The Aberdeen Bestiary is a 12th century English illuminated manuscript.

Digital Collections of Bestiaries

Artstor's "Bestiaries" or "Book of Beasts"
More that 500 facsimiles of illustrations and illuminations from different bestiaries or "book of beasts" from between 400 and 1700 CE.
Bestiaries on Europeana
Access to digital facsimiles of more than 300 images from different bestiaries, predominately housed in the United Kingdom.
Book of Beasts at the Getty
Digital representation of a 2019 exhibit at the Getty Museum centered around Medieval Books of Beasts (bestiaries). Includes access points for some images and art works representing animals.
Books of Beasts in the British Library: the Medieval Bestiary and its context
Access points for portions of the British Library's Medieval Bestiaries (11-14th centuries), including the Stowe 1067 and Royal 12 F. xiii manuscripts.

Digital Facsimiles of Bestiaries

Ashmole Bestiary (Bodleian Library MS. Ashmole 1511)
Call Number: Digital Bodleian
Publication Date: 1201–1225
Bestiary (Bodleian Library MS. Bodl. 764)
Call Number: Digital Bodleian
Publication Date: 1226–1250
Bestiary (MS Ii.4.26)
Call Number: Cambridge University Digital Library
Publication Date: 1200a
Didactic miscellany, containing a bestiary and other texts (MS Kk.4.25)
Call Number: Cambridge University Digital Library
Publication Date: c. 1230
Le Bestiaire d'amour rimet
Call Number: BnF
Publication Date: 1275-1325
Language: French
Facsimile: Black and White
Excerpts from Bodleian Library MS. Douce 88 by Joachim of Fiore
Call Number: Digital Bodleian
Publication Date: 13th century, end
Yi yu tu zhi (FC.246.5)
Call Number: University of Cambridge Digital Library
Publication Date: 1489
The work is similar in nature to the bestiaries of mediaeval Europe. It contains illustrations of 168 countries or peoples, each with an accompanying text, as well as an appendix which comprises, in addition to a list of 31 further places without illustrations, woodcuts of one bird and 14 animals, each named but without explanatory texts.
Le description philosophale de la nature & condition des oyseaux & de l'inclination & proprieté d'iceux by Jean Ruelle
Call Number: HathiTrust
Publication Date: 1571
Govierno general, moral, y politico : hallado en las fieras y animales sylvestres, sacado de sus naturales virtudes, y propiedades : con particular table para sermones varios de tiempo y de santos by Thomàs Loriente
Call Number: HathiTrust
Publication Date: 1696

Studies of Nature

Aristotle, Libri naturales
Call Number: British Library
Publication Date: 3rd quarter of the 13th century
Harley MS 3487

Last Updated: Jan 30, 2025 3:09 PM
Subjects: English Language & Literature, History, Romance Languages & Literatures

Boston College Libraries

140 Commonwealth Ave
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467

O'Neill Circulation:

O'Neill Reference:

Administration:

Hours

Today's Library Hours
Library	Hours
O'Neill Library
Bapst Library
Burns Library
Educational Resource Center
Law Library
Social Work Library
Theology & Ministry Library

(*) The O'Neill Library first floor will remain open for use until 2:00 am.

Copyright © 2024 Trustees of Boston College