Medieval and Premodern History

Manuscripts: Astronomy and Astrology

This is a short guide to Medieval history focusing on scholarly research and digital primary source collections.

Manuscripts

This page incudes a selection of examples of different digital facsimiles of astrological and astronomical manuscripts from across the European continent during the Medieval to Pre-modern periods.

Broad Collections and Ephemera

Armillary Spheres on Europeana
Digital facsimiles of more than 100 what: armillary spheres (aka armillarsfär, armillarium, or sphere armillaire) from across 16th to 18th century Europe.
Artstor and "Astrology" OR "Astronomy"
A collection of more than 400 digital facsimile of images and ephemera related to astrology or astronomy from 400 to 1700 CE, predominately in Europe.
Medieval Astrology at the British Library
A small selection of images from astrological images at the British Library.

12th century

Scientific treatises on Music, Mathematics, Astronomy by 2nd quarter or 2nd half of the 11th century
Call Number: British Library
This manuscript contains a collection of scientific works. It opens with treatises on music by the Italian Benedictine monk Guido of Arezzo (b. c. 995, d. 1050) that were highly influential in the development of polyphonic music and staff notation. The section on music is followed by works on arithmetic and astronomy, particularly concerning the astrolabe and astrology.

13th century

[Thesaurus pauperum, in Italian ; Nicolaus, Experimenta in Italian ; On the medicinal value of precious stones ; Medicina che fa partuire la femina ...; Medical treatise ... in Italian ... part of the falconry of King Dancus ; Albertus Magnus, De lapidibu by John XXI, Pope, -1277; Albertus, Magnus, Saint, 1193?-1280
Call Number: LOC
Publication Date: [between 1300 and 1320]
Leaves 1 recto-2 verso. 3 astrological tables and 4 circular diagrams, one referring to the year 1203 -- leaves 3 recto-37 verso.

14th century

Liber astrologiae (Sloane MS 3983) by Georgius Fendulus
Call Number: British Library
Publication Date: 2nd or 3rd quarter of the 14th century
This manuscript contains the Liber astrologiae of Georgius Fendulus (12th century), an abbreviated Latin version of the astrological work of Abu Ma'shar (b. 787, d. 886). It is a close copy of Paris, BnF, MS Lat. 7330 (1220-40), and it may have served as the exemplar for New York, Morgan Library, MS M.785 (c. 1403).

15th century

Folding calendar-almanac (Egerton MS 2724)
Call Number: British Library
Publication Date: 1404
Contents: A folded calendar-almanac (imperfect), beginning at July, with tables of dominical letters, astronomical diagrams and prognostications and dates of significant biblical and historical events. The 13 inner folds contain a series of diagrams and tables.
L’image du monde (Harley MS 334) by Gautier de Metz
Call Number: British Library
Publication Date: 2nd quarter of the 15th century
Origin: France, Central (Paris) and England.

17th century

Notae in Newtoni Principia Mathematica by David Gregory (trans.)
Call Number: Christ Church Library
Publication Date: 1695
This is a transcript of David Gregory's Notes on Isaac Newton's Principia Mathematica, composed, it is said at Newton's request.

Burns Box

In our very own special collections library (Burns), you'll find a selection of material on your topic. Consider visiting the library and seeing history in your hands. To do so, you should start by searching for material through BC Libraries' catalog and then ordering it (if you haven't registered, you'll be prompted). For a guide on the process, check out the "Finding Burns Material" page. You might also check out the following recommendations:

Burns Books on Astrology OR Astronomy
Publication Date: 1485-1700
A selection of more than 40 manuscripts and books related in some way to "astrology" or "astronomy" in BC's catalog (Primo).
Nouiciis adolfscentibus [i.e. adolescentibus], ad astronomicam rempu. capessenda[m] aditu[m] i[m]petra[n]tib[us] ... by Joannes de Sacro Bosco, active 1230
Publication Date: 1485
Computus nouus totius fere astronomie fundamentum pulcerrimu[m] continens by Wolfgang Stoeckel, active 1496-1525 (printer)
Publication Date: 1499
Marsilius Ficinus Florentinus De triplici vita : una cum textu Salerni. by Marsilio Ficino, 1433-1499
Marsilii Ficini Florentini, medici, atque philosophi celeberrimi, De vita libri tres, recèns iam à mendis sitúque vindicati, ac summa castigati diligentia : quorum primus, De studiosorum sanitate tuenda, secundus, De vita producenda, tertius, De vita coel by Marsilio Ficino, 1433-1499
D. Christophori Pezelii Præcepta genethliaca; siue, De prognosticandis hominum natiuitatibus commentarius eruditissimus, : in quo non solum astrologiæ præcepta & certa istius fundamenta demonstrantur, verum etiam varii casus, historiæ, euentus & exempla l by Christoph Pezel 1539-1604
D. Christophori Pezelii Præcepta genethliaca; siue, De prognosticandis hominum natiuitatibus commentarius eruditissimus, : in quo non solum astrologiæ præcepta & certa istius fundamenta demonstrantur, verum etiam varii casus, historiæ, euentus & exempla l by Christoph Pezel, 1539-1604
Astrologomania, the madnesse of astrologers. : Or an examination of Sir Christopher Heydons booke, intituled 'A defence of judiciarie astrologie' by George Carleton, 1559-1628
The worlds catastrophe, or, Europes many mutations untill, 1666 : the fate of Englands monarchy untill its subversion : government of the vvorld under God by the seven planetary angels, their names, times of government : an exact type of the three suns se by William Lilly, 1602-1681
"A prophecie of Ambrose Merlin, a Britaine, from the translation of Gefferey of Monmouth, aenigmatically therein delivering the fate, and period of the English monarchy": p. 35-41.
"Iohn Tritemius, Abbot of Spanheim, of the heavenly intelligencies, governing the orbes under God": p. 42-56.
Christian astrology : modestly treated of in three books ... by William Lilly, 1602-1681
Book 3 has separate t.p.: An easie and plaine method teaching how to judge upon nativities ... / by William Lilly ... London : Printed by Tho. Brudenell, for John Partridge and Humphrey Blunden, 1647.
Vnheard-of curiosities: : concerning the talismanical sculpture of the Persians, the horoscope of the patriarkes, and the reading of the star by Jacques Gaffarel, 1601-1681
A translation of: Curiositez inouyes, sur la sculpture talismanique des persans. Horoscope des patriarches. Et lecture des estoilles.

Writing Help

Tips for Writing Papers (BC History Department)
A set of guidelines compiled by BC history professors to help you avoid the most common pitfalls of essay writing.
Connors Family Learning Center
The CFLC offers content-area tutoring, writing tutoring, instructional support, and support for learning disabilities to all current B.C. community members.
Your Library Liaison
Schedule an appointment to discuss your bibliography or footnotes.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

Medieval and Premodern History

Manuscripts: Astronomy and Astrology

Manuscripts

Broad Collections and Ephemera

12th century

13th century

14th century

15th century

17th century

Burns Box

Writing Help