Skip to main content
Chat With Us

Medieval and Premodern History

:

Scholarly Research

This is a short guide to Medieval history focusing on scholarly research and digital primary source collections.

Approaching European Medieval History

On this first, landing page you'll find access points for reference material (e.g., bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.), access points for finding books, and some of the major databases for looking for scholarly articles. In the subpages, you'll access points for digital collections of "Data, Ephemera, and Maps," "Manuscript Collections," and "Manuscripts: Astronomy & Astrology." 

What's on This Page

This page has a lot on it. You can use the following anchors (links down the page) to jump straight to a relevant box.

    Reference Shelf

    For additional dictionaries, encyclopedia, and more, check out the Reference subpage.

    Books: Find & Request from BC & Beyond

    Your local libraries have excellent monographs and anthologies located in O'Neill library as well as through the BC libraries portal. Try searching for books (only books) through the WorldCat library system to see if we have what you need. If we don't, you can order material through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

    WorldCat Catalog


    Books Only   All Formats  

    Journal and e-Book Database Recommendations

    Subject Librarian for History

    Bee Lehman, Ph.D.'s picture
    Bee Lehman, Ph.D.
    Contact:
    Office: O'Neill Library 414A

    Schedule an Appointment to talk on Google Meet, Zoom, or Skype.
    Skype Contact: brittany.lehman@bc.edu
    Subjects:History