European History

Interface in German or English. Content primarily in German.
31,985,768 objects, including 10,069,639 with digitised media, mostly relating to German history.
Open Access.

Interface in English. Content in English or original languages.
Links to European historical documents that have been transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Maintained by Brigham Young University.
Open Access.

Interface in English or other, major European languages. Content in multiple languages.
Europe-wide unified search of digitized collections. Images, audio, texts, and more. Funded by the EU. Covers more than 1,000 years of history. Strongest for 1500 to 2000.
Open Access.

Interface in English and French (and other major, European languages). Majority of the content in French.
France's fantastic digital library from the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Digitized periodicals, images, recordings, and more. Covers two millenia with particular strength from 1500 to the present.
Open Access.

Collection of databases containing information about Holocaust victims and survivors. It contains more than 2.75 million entries, from more than 190 component datasets, listed below.

A selection of links to primary source collections related to the massacres.

Includes curated photographs, a timeline, maps and more. Users should note the origin of the different photographs.

More than 150 documents (photographs, books, and more) between 1910 and 1925 relating to Armenians. Several full text books/reports discussing atrocities committed during the period.

More than 500 documents in Gallica (the French National Library) related to Armenia in the 20th century. Includes a refugee periodical (in French) and more.

A bibliography with some text of Armenian and Russian authors writing about the genocide in fiction as well as research and journalism.

Provides information about memorials and monuments dedicated to the memory of the Armenian Genocide. The Armenian National Institute (ANI), to date, has identified 200 memorials in 32 countries. Many are documented with multiple images.

Includes more than 10 personal narratives, including Armenian Golgotha available through the Boston College Libraries.

This section features sample documents relating to the genocide from U.S. and British archives. The documents are available both as images and as text.

During the massacre Sachtleben was in the American mission building, where over 200 Armenians fled for protection. Sachtleben witnessed the aftermath of the massacre; he took photographs of the victims in the Armenian Cemetery and wrote three lengthy and detailed letters about the massacre.

On this website you will find an abridged version of the Database of Jewish Businesses in Berlin. The database was set up between 2005 and 2012 as part of a research project at the Humboldt University in Berlin. It is the basis of both the study “Final Sale in Berlin. The destruction of Jewish commercial activity 1930-1945“ and the exhibition “Final Sale. The end of Jewish owned businesses in Nazi Berlin”.

EHRI's main objective is to support the Holocaust research community by opening up a portal that will give online access to dispersed sources relating to the Holocaust, and by encouraging collaborative research through the development of tools.

A sample search for students with keyword "Jüdisch" combined with a date limitation (1933-1947). Recommend also searching for "Roma OR Sinti" as well as other, targeted groups.

A selection of documents about the Holocaust in the 1930s and 1940s. Includes legal documents, theory, and more mostly in English translation.

Consists of various donated materials pertaining to the Holocaust assembled into a single research file. Only a few items date to the historical time period of the Holocaust, including metal plates from J. A. Topf & Söhne, the manufacturer of crematoria for the concentration camps, and two pamphlets from the 1930s, Hilfe und Aufbau and Emergency committee in aid of displaced German scholars, which respond to the crisis caused by the Nazi ascendancy. Other items in the collection fall into three categories: 1) a couple of original documentary materials on the Holocaust and victims of the Holocaust created or assembled after the historical event, 2) unpublished, or not widely published, essays and speeches on the topic of the Holocaust, and 3) Yizkor book commemorating victims of the Holocaust.

LeMO (Living Museum Online) documents German history from the founding of the German Empire in the 19th Century to the present. The offering combines informative text with museum objects, films and sound recordings and provides a comprehensive picture of history. German language only.

The database provides information on cultural objects removed or relocated due to Nazi persecution or the Second World War. It is divided into search requests, where cultural objects that were lost can be registered to request a world-wide search, and found-object reports, where found objects can be registered.

This freely accessible "virtual reading room" contains a growing number of digital files from the Flossenbürg Concentration Camp Memorial and more than 30 other institutions and private collections focusing on Nazi era victim data.

A collection of interviews, art, photographs and more designed for use in the classroom.

Extensive collection of textual, visual, and audio material with excellent explanatory essays. Focuses on the Holocaust in Europe during the Second World War but provides additional content discussing the lead-up and aftermath.

This museum in Israel had digitized collections including a "Central Database of Shoah Victims' Names;" a photo collection including images from before, during, and after the Holocaust; a documents and film archive; published texts about the Holocaust, and more.

The goal is to facilitate access to Yizkor Books and the information contained in them.

Truth Commission: Commission for Historical Clarification
Duration: 1997 – 1999
Charter: Agreement on the establishment of the Commission to clarify past human rights violations and acts of violence that have caused the Guatemalan population to suffer, June 23, 1994
Commissioners: 3
Report: Public report

There are four different types of information in the CGDB: bibliographic, biographic, photographic and geographic. The bibliographic database contains records on 2,963 primary and secondary documents, articles and books dealing with atrocities during the Khmer Rouge regime.

More than 25 personal narratives and biographies from Cambodia available through Boston College Libraries.

The Genocide Archive of Rwanda's collection contains over 8,000 photographs, videos and documents related to the 1994 genocide against theTutsi. Materials about pre-genocide history and post-genocide reconciliation and recovery initiatives in Rwanda are also included.

Collections contain over one hundred testimonies from survivors, rescuers, elders and perpetrators of the 1994 genocide against the Tutsi. Please be aware some testimonies contain sensitive content.

More than 30 personal narratives, reports, and more available at Boston College about the Rwandan Genocide.

These recordings are powerful personal accounts of the Holocaust from Jewish survivors living in Britain. This collection contains more than 1,500 interviews from two oral history projects, the Living Memory of the Jewish Community (C410) and the Holocaust Survivors' Centre Interviews (C830).

The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies comprising 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. A substantial subset has been digitized. Users must create an individual account to view interviews.

Collections contain over one hundred testimonies from survivors, rescuers, elders and perpetrators of the 1994 genocide against the Tutsi. Please be aware some testimonies contain sensitive content.

Provides access to more than 1,500 full life histories, testimonies of survivors and witnesses to the Holocaust and other genocides (e.g., Rwanda, Guatemala, etc.) for guided exploration.
Must register with USC (free).

The Visual History Archive is an online portal from USC Shoah Foundation that allows users to search through and view 55,000 audiovisual testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides that have been catalogued and indexed at the Institute. These testimonies were conducted in 65 countries and in 43 languages.
Free registration required

The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum’s Jeff and Toby Herr Oral History Archive is one of the largest and most diverse collections of Holocaust testimonies in the world. The Museum conducts its own interviews, and also actively collects testimonies produced by individuals and institutions such as libraries, archives, and local Holocaust research centers.

The library has been collecting material related to the Holocaust and other genocides since 1933. Our holdings contain approximately 70,000 books and pamphlets, 2,000 physical document collections, 45,000 photographs and 3,000 periodical titles (including 110 current subscriptions), 1 million press cuttings, as well as posters, objects, artworks, digital collections, and audiovisual materials.

Truth Commission: Commission for Historical Clarification
Duration: 1997 – 1999
Charter: Agreement on the establishment of the Commission to clarify past human rights violations and acts of violence that have caused the Guatemalan population to suffer, June 23, 1994
Commissioners: 3
Report: Public report