Digital archives at the National Library of Spain. Contains manuscripts, maps, photographs, drawings, etc. Includes collections specifically focused on "Hispanoamérica," with more than 4,000 items from 1500 to the present (focused on 1800-2000).
Interface in English or other, major European languages. Content in multiple languages.
Europe-wide unified search of digitized collections. Images, audio, texts, and more. Funded by the EU. Covers more than 1,000 years of history. Strongest for 1500 to 2000.
Open Access.
A digital repository for the nation's research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the digitized book and serial collections of major universities and other partner institutions, a significant portion of which is in the public domain and available full text. Boston College's status as a partner makes it possible for members of the Boston College community to download any of the out-of-copyright items as PDFs.
Managed by the Library of Galicia, the project aims to digitize the most relevant bibliographic collections for Galicia. Its purpose is to achieve the maximum visibility of the digital resources integrated in it and the interoperability with the main digitization projects existing today (Hispanic and European).
More than 1.5 million documents from across Europe and farther, including diverse publications, visual materials, serials, posters, photographs, drawings, ephemera, postcards, some audio and visual recordings, a few comics and games as well.
Open Access.
The World Digital Library is a Library of Congress project sponsored by UNESCO. Items in this digital library, including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps and sound recordings, are individually described and searchable in seven languages. Most countries and regions around the world are represented.
Broad Digital Collections: Iberian National and State Digital Collections
Digital archives at the National Library of Spain. Contains manuscripts, maps, photographs, drawings, etc. Includes collections specifically focused on "Hispanoamérica," with more than 4,000 items from 1500 to the present (focused on 1800-2000).
The National Library of Portugal provides an index to its digital facsimiles and collaborates with other institutions to create interactive interfaces (see the World Digital Library, the Iberoamerican Digital Library, etc.). Coverage from the 11th to the 21st centuries. Content mostly in Portuguese.
A portal and database created by Spain's Ministerio de Cultura containing more than twenty million documents and digital images from the principal Spanish archives, including the Archive of the Indies and Archive of the Spanish Civil War.
Parallel Histories: Spain, the United States, and the American Frontier is a bilingual, multi-format English-Spanish digital library site that explores the interactions between Spain and the United States in America from the fifteenth to the early nineteenth centuries. A cooperative effort between the National Library of Spain, the Biblioteca Colombina y Capitular of Seville and the Library of Congress, the project is part of the Library of Congress Global Gateway initiative to build digital library partnerships with national libraries around the world.
Cambridge University Library provided some 2,000 sueltos, including nearly 200 poster-sized aleluyas, which typically have 48 illustrations and accompanying text in couplets, and some 2,500 19 and late 18 century sueltos from the British Library.
The Library of Congress purchased this collection now described as Spanish Legal Documents (15th-19th Centuries) in 1941 and it was microfilmed in 1983 and 1984. They were primarily issued individually in sections, which varied from 1 to 6 folios; the majority of the documents were printed using handset type on handmade paper which is in exceptionally good condition.
Provides access to selected full-text resources. Select "Literatura", "Catálogo," then "Biblioteca de Autores" (Iberian writers). For Hispanic and Latin American writers select "Biblioteca Americana", select "Biblioteca de Autores".
This periodical and newspaper library was created in March 2007 to provide public access to the digital collection of historical Spanish press items housed in the national library, with an initial collection of 143 newspapers and periodicals. The range of titles has been growing, and there are currently 2,371 titles, which is over 67 million pages.
ICON's listing of worldwide newspaper digitization projects is far from comprehensive, but it's a good starting point, particularly for international newspapers.
68 motion pictures, produced between 1898 and 1901, of the Spanish-American War and the subsequent Philippine Revolution. The Spanish-American War was the first U.S. war in which the motion picture camera played a role.
The papers of nurse, educator, philanthropist, and lecturer Clara Barton (1821-1912) consist of 62,000 items (81,608 images). Includes Letterbooks, 1876-1911 covering the Spanish-American war.
During the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939) children were evacuated from the war zones to "colonies" in the war-free areas of Spain and in the south of France. Drawings by these children – most between the ages of seven and fourteen – were collected from throughout Spain in a concerted effort by the Spanish Board of Education and the Carnegie Institute of Spain.
Images digitized from originals in the UC San Diego collections include propaganda posters, newspaper photographs, postcards, drawings made by Spanish children in colonias, and more.
On May 15th of 2011, thousands of activists and sympathizers gathered at Puerta del Sol, one of the best known and busiest places in the city of Madrid, to protest and demand solutions to rising unemployment and other symptoms of the ongoing economic crisis in Spain.
