European History

Social research archive with special sections that cite data related literature and research information. Historical data included.

O'Neill Stacks PT236 .S55 1997. Nine generically-structured narrative chapters provide a history of German literature within the wider context of Germanic culture.

In German: Zertifiziertes Wissen zu mehr als 730.000 Persönlichkeiten des deutschen Sprachraums vom frühen Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart, u.a. 50.000 biographische Artikel (ADB und NDB) und Links zu über 230 weiteren Angeboten (Lexika, Quellen, Literatur etc.)

Interface in English or other, major European languages. Content in multiple languages.
Europe-wide unified search of digitized collections. Images, audio, texts, and more. Funded by the EU. Covers more than 1,000 years of history. Strongest for 1500 to 2000.
Open Access.

More than 1.5 million documents from across Europe and farther, including diverse publications, visual materials, serials, posters, photographs, drawings, ephemera, postcards, some audio and visual recordings, a few comics and games as well.
Open Access.

Digitized primary sources from the Library of Congress, includes manuscripts, books, photos, maps, audio recordings, and more!

Interface in English or German. Content pictorial with descriptions predominately in German.
A continually growing collection of digital facsimiles of images housed in the Bayerische StaatsBibliothek.
Open Access.

Interface in German or English. Content primarily in German.
31,985,768 objects, including 10,069,639 with digitised media, mostly relating to German history.
Open Access.

A source-based digital project that examines three broad topics – migration, knowledge and education, and Germanness – from 1500 to the present. B

An online collection of primary-source materials documenting various aspects of German history from the Early Modern period to the present.

Interface and content in German.
Index to German film titles with notes on media form and run time.
Open Access.

Interface in English or German. Content in German.
The mission of the DEFA Foundation is to preserve the films of DEFA, the former East German film studios, and oversee their use for the public good as part of Germany’s national cultural heritage. Interface predominately functions as index.
Open Access.

This collection of digital facsimiles from the University of Heidelberg include manuscripts, incunables, theological literature, medical and scientific texts, as well as travel literature and historic journals and news papers. Also includes a strong local collection.

As a project partner and principal of Transit Film GmbH the German Federal Archives are responsible for the digitization of about 500 hours of film material, of which 100 hours are in HD, as well as the digitization of the entire index information of these films.

Weekly newspaper. Die Zeit Print Archiv (1946-) offers free full-text, but the archive does not contain everything that is in the print edition.

Provides total of 311.234 issues from 193 historical newspapers from Germany and foreign newspapers in German. Covers 1850 to around 1943. Includes the Zeitungsportal DDR-Presse with later coverage.

The Picture Collection of the German Colonial Society (DKG, 1887-1936) in the University Library for Frankfurt am Main includes more than 50,000 images. Includes thousands of images from eastern and southern African spaces including Namibia and Tanzania.

Includes more than 1,200 titles, mostly in German and French, on German colonization in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Das Bundesarchiv verwahrt eine Vielzahl authentischer Quellen zur deutschen Kolonialzeit (1884-1918), die einen differenzierten Blick auf das damalige Geschehen erlauben. Includes digitized images, posters, postcards, and other documents.

The German Digital Library contains millions of digitized records pertaining to German history. This is a search for an online subset relating to "Africa" ("Afrika" in German).

The German Federal Archive created a portal to its collection on the First World for the centennial. They digitized more than 700,000 pages from files on the War, which included documents, photographs, and film as well as other materials.

Includes a collection of film from WWI drawn from a variety of archives across Europe.

Small online exhibition with digital facsimiles relating to the role of the Evangelical Church in Germany's involvement in the First World War.

This collection includes over 500 digitized books, reports, images, and other documents relating to Germany during the First and Second World Wars as well as the German secret police (1912-1945).

The First World War Collection set up by the Deutsche Bücherei in 1914 was intended to serve as a witness to events whose historical dimensions were recognised by contemporaries at a very early stage. On the occasion of the anniversary in 2014, this collection has been reopened by the German National Library, and some of it has been digitised.

A list to diverse German national and regional websites dedicated to the history of the First World War.

The reports of the First and Second subcommittees of the Committee appointed by the National constituent assembly to inquire into the responsibility for the war.

The ECG volumes I-IV are now fully searchable, open access digital publications and the most comprehensive resource on Nazi persecutory sites. The ECG gives users the ability to dynamically engage with empirically grounded research that documents thousands of camps, ghettos, and other sites of persecution operated by the Nazis and their allies.

Visualizes the vast scale of the network of Nazi-era persecution.

The historical publication of the Social Democratic Party (SPD) Online from 1865-1940 through the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung.

Im Archiv der sozialen Demokratie werden laufend Bestände verzeichnet und - je nach rechtlicher Möglichkeit - ins Internet auf unseren iServer gestellt. Neben diesen online verfügbaren Digitalisaten und Findmitteln beziehungsweise Datenbanken halten wir dort ebenfalls unsere Bestandsübersicht mit ersten Informationen zu allen im AdsD verwahrten Beständen für Sie bereit: Hier finden Sie für jeden einzelnen Personenbestand, Organisationsbestand und Sammlungsbestand einführende Angaben zum Inhalt, zur Laufzeit und zum Umfang sowie außerdem den Hinweis auf vorhandene Findmittel, etwaige Herkunftsarchive oder besondere Benutzungsbedingungen; die Einträge zu Personenbeständen geben zusätzlich Auskunft über die zentralen Stationen des beruflichen und politischen Lebenswegs der Bestandsbildner_innen.

Cultural information in Germany that combines metadata from digital library catalogs, archival finding aids, and museum inventories.