New Testament

Dictionaries & Lexicons

A research guide intended to assist students and researchers navigate key resources and tools for research and paper-writing.

The Anchor Bible Dictionary by David Noel Freedman (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
A highly esteemed six-volume dictionary containing articles on biblical texts and topics.
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by Gerhard Kittel (Editor); Gerhard Friedrich (Editor)
Call Number: TML Reference PA881 .K513
Provides in-depth information on terms, and not only traces how Greek words are used in the New Testament, but also in classical Greek literature, the Septuagint, and intertestamental works.

Note: entries in the TDNT are in the Greek lexical form, but the dictionary article is in English. If you do not know the lexical form, use vol. 10, the index. There you can look up terms in English, Greek, and by biblical reference and determine where you will find them in the set of volumes. In each section, the TDNT volume is indicated with a Roman numeral, followed by the page range for the accompanying article (ex. III:501-536).
Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament by Horst Balz (Editor); Gerhard Schneider (Editor)
Call Number: TML Reference BS2312 .E913 1990
ISBN: 9780802824127

Like the TDNT, entries in this dictionary are in the Greek lexical form; if you do not know this form, use the English index in the third volume.

The Concise Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament [Online] by Frederick William Danker; Kathryn Krug
Unlike other lexica of the Greek New Testament, which give only brief glosses for headwords, The Concise Greek-English Lexicon offers extended definitions or explanations in idiomatic English for all Greek terms. Each entry includes basic etymological information, short renderings, information on usage, and plentiful biblical references. Greek terms that could have different English definitions, depending on context, are thoughtfully keyed to the appropriate passages.
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by Frederick William Danker (Editor); Walter Bauer
Call Number: TML Reference: PA881 B38 2000
Including entries for many more words, this new edition also lists more than 25,000 additional references to classical, intertestamental, Early Christian, and modern literature. With extended definitions this lexicon gives a fuller sense of each word in question, which will help avoid both anachronisms and confusion among users of the lexicon who may not be native speakers of English.