Skip to main content
Chat With Us

New Testament

:

Articles

A research guide intended to assist students and researchers navigate key resources and tools for research and paper-writing.

Article search

The tutorial videos in this section were designed to help students become familiar with some basic tools that will be instrumental in any NT research project at Boston College.

Searching for journal articles in the Atla Religion Database

Oxford Bibliographies in Biblical Studies

Oxford Bibliographies in Biblical Studies is a great resource as you begin your research for identifying seminal works of scholarship in your area of study.  The bibliographies are extensive and integrated with links to the library catalog.  To check if a source is available via BC Libraries, click on the "+" sign and then on the "Find it @ BC" button.

Oxford Bibliographies find it at BC button

 

New Testament Abstracts

Founded in 1956, New Testament Abstracts (NTA) is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy, and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. Every year NTA abstracts approximately 1,500 articles chosen from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages. Hundreds of books are also summarized annually.

New Testament Abstracts is available online, covering all abstracts from the years 1984-2018.  This database can be extremely useful for skimming through related articles on specific topics within the New Testament. 

Searching New Testament Abstracts

The following is a step-by-step guide on how to search the New Testament Abstracts electronic database by scripture citation and how to access the resultant articles.

NTA from 1956-1984

NTA started in 1956 at what was then known as the Weston College of the Holy Spirit.  The issues from 1956 until 1984 are available electronically as well, but through HathiTrust, a non-profit digital library.  Unfortunately, the HathiTrust collection of NTA issues is not as easily searched as the EBSCO database we've used for our above demonstration.  However, if you need to find abstracts from this time period, all the issues are available and accessible.