Citations & AbstractsCitations & Abstracts OnlineCitations & Abstracts w/selected Full TextFull Text

Home

      
     Search:
   

 
About This Guide

This Guide is meant to help identify materials for basic and advanced research in German studies; a special emphasis is placed on resources for studying German literature.

Unless otherwise noted, call numbers refer to locations in O'Neill Library. A number of related research guides are available to assist researchers, in particluar a guide on Literary Research.

Additional information and guidance is available from the Subject Specialist for German Studies, Jonas Barciauskas (617-552-4447; barciaus@bc.edu).

 
 

 
Introductions & Overviews

The Cambridge History of German Literature. Ed. Helen Watanabe-O'Kelly. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1997. (O'Neill Stacks PT91 .C36 1997).
With signed essays on periods of German literature, this work includes a 75 page bibliographic section with selected titles organized by the time periods covered in the essays.

Sagarra, Eda and Skrine, Peter. A Companion to German Literature: From 1500 to the Present. Cambridge, MA : Blackwell Publishers, 1997. (O'Neill Stacks PT236 .S55 1997)
Nine generically-structured narrative chapters provide a history of German literature within the wider context of Germanic culture. An extensive alphabetically ordered biographical index to authors discussed provides an easy-reference supplement.

Germany: A Companion to German Studies. 2nd ed. Ed.Malcolm Pasley. London: Methuen, 1982. (O'Neill Stacks DD61 .G42 1982)
Provides good background reading for the beginning student.

Robertson, John G. A History of German Literature. 4th ed. Rev. and enl. by Edna Purdie with the assistance of W. I. Lucas and M. O'C. Walshe. New York: British Book Center, 1962. (O'Neill Stacks PT91 .R711)
Although dated, still useful for for basic facts and dates up to 1960.

 
 

Subject Librarian

Jonas Barciauskas

Contact Info:
O'Neill 406
Email Me
View My Other Guides

My Subjects:
Classical Studies, German Studies, Philosophy, Theology

 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide



Description

  Loading content... please wait