German Language & Literature

Created by the University Library Frankfurt am Main, Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach und Literaturwissenschaft, is the most important bibliographic source of information for German studies with a focus on literature.

Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content. At present, there are two collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Each collection is updated with new Companions on publication and are cross-searchable.

The Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904 presents periodicals published in foreign languages primarily from the 18th and 19th centuries. These publications cut across subjects -- and include religious, literary, and political magazines -- speaking to and reflecting the interests and concerns of immigrant and ethnic communities. In addition to works published in the United States, titles also come from Paris, Montreal, London, Hamburg, Leipsig, and Mexico; languages including French, Spanish, Norwegian, German, Swedish, and Welsh are represented.

(IEDO) reconstructs the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European.

Kindlers Literatur Lexikon is the online version of the comprehensive German language encyclopedia of world literature, including the full text of the 17 volumes of the 3rd edition, and annual updates from 2010-present.

This large online collection of literary criticism provides a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Multiple search and browse options are provided.

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.