Linguistics

Provides combined searching of the two major communication studies databases, including abstracts of articles, reports, and books from a variety of scholarly, trade, and professional publishers plus full text from more than 200 publications.

Includes three kinds of dictionaries: dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words and historical Latin dictionaries.

The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) represents the full panoply of American regional vocabulary.

Comprehensive reference work on Slavic languages, provides authoritative treatment of all important aspects of the Slavic language family from its Indo-European origins to the present day, as well as consideration of the interaction of Slavic with other languages.

Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the worlds known living languages. Since 1951, the Ethnologue has been an active research project involving hundreds of linguists and other researchers around the world. It is widely regarded to be the most comprehensive source of information of its kind.

Great Corpus of French language Grammars, Commentaries and Treatises on language (14th-17th centuries) groups together in one database the Corpus of French Renaissance grammars, the Corpus of French 17th century grammars and the Corpus of remarks on the French language (17th Century).

The Linguistic Bibliography Online covers all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including less-known and extinct languages, with particular attention to the many endangered languages of the world. The online edition contains all entries of the printed volumes as of 1993 and new records are added on a monthly basis.

The Linguistic Data Consortium (LDC) is an open consortium of universities, libraries, corporations and government research laboratories. In addition to being a repository , it creates and distributes a wide array of language resources. LDC also supports sponsored research programs and language-based technology evaluations by providing resources and contributing organizational expertise.

This database covers a wide range of areas related to the nature and use of language. Major topics include phonetics, phonology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.